Cardiff upset London Irish in Anglo Welsh LV Cup

Rhys Patchell will play for the Scarlets next next season

Cardiff Blues upset London Irish 10-6 in the Anglo Welsh LV Cup at the Cardiff Arms Park and put the Exiles place in the Semi-finals in doubt.

London Irish started the match leading Pool three of the Anglo Welsh cup and knowing that a bonus point victory would secure a place in the play-offs.

However while the conditions were far from ideal their error-riddled display could have cost them their campaign.

The Blues scored the first and only try of the match in the first half when Gavin Evans pounced on a loose ball after Exiles fullback Tom Homer failed to ground the ball behind the try line following a Rhys Patchell’s grubber.

Patchell’s conversion and a 40-yard penalty miss from Tom Homer meant that Cardiff Blues led 7-3 at the half time mark.

The second half saw both teams add a penalty each but while the visiting London Irish team applied pressure they could not get over the try line and the opportunity slipped away for the Exiles.

The result means that London Irish now need Worcester to beat Saracens if they are to progress to the Semi-finals.

Cardiff Blues (7) 10 London Irish (3) 6


Cardiff Blues
Try: Evans
Cons: Patchell
Pens: Patchell

London Irish
Pens: Horner 2

Match Officials
Referee: Ian Tempest (RFU) 4th competition game.
Assistant Referees: Neil Perkins, Matthew Thomas.


Cardiff Blues

15. Jason Tovey 14. Owen Williams 13. Gavin Evans (c ) 12. Dafydd Hewitt 11. Harry Robinson 10. Rhys Patchell 9. Alex Walker,8. Robin Copeland 7. Thomas Young 6. Michael Paterson 5. James Down 4. Cory Hill 3. Benoit Bourrust 2. Rhys Williams 1. Nathan Trevett

Replacements : 16. Kristian Dacey 17. Sam Hobbs 18. Taufa’ao Filise 19. Luke Hamilton 20. Rory Watts-Jones 21 Lewis Jones 22. Ceri Sweeney 23. Chris Czekaj

London Irish

15. Tom Homer; 14. Topsy Ojo; 13. Jonathan Joseph; 12. Guy Armitage; 11. Marland Yarde; 10. Shane Geraghty (Captain); 9. Patt Phibbs; 1. Max Lahiff; 2. Mike Mayhew; 3. Halani Aulika; 4. Kieran Low; 5. Bryn Evans; 6. Matt Garvey; 7. Jebb Sinclair; 8. Chris Hala’ufia

Replacements: 16. Davey McGregor; 17. Jerry Yanuyanutawa; 18.Leo Halavatau; 19.James Sandford; 20. Alex Gray; 21. Steven Shingler; 22. Ian Humphreys; 23. Jack Moates

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. more information

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.