London Irish blow Worcester away in LV Cup

London Irish secured a convincing 46-24 Anglo Welsh LV Cup victory over Premiership rivals Worcester Warriors on Sunday at the Madejski Stadium.

London Irish kept their chances of making the Anglo Welsh LV= Cup semi-finals
after the Madejski Stadium victory.

Exiles winger Marland Yarde bagged a hat-trick to help his side secure the
vital bonus-point victory that takes them above Saracens in Pool 3.

Halani Aulika touched down for two tries of his own in the space of 15 minutes
that put the hosts in a handy lead early on.

Yarde crossed for London Irish’s third touchdown just before the break, leaving
Worcester with a mountain to climb.

Warriors pivot Danny Gray reduced the deficit for Warriors shortly after the
break, but an Alex Gray try minutes later ensured that Irish would secure a
bonus point.

David Lemi and James Percival kept Worcester in the game, but two more from
Yarde took the home side out of sight.

Final Score London Irish 46 Worcester 24


London Irish
Tries Aulika 2, Yarde 3, Gray
Conversions : Homer 5
Penalties : Homer 2

Tries : Gray, Lemi , Percival
Conversions : Gray, Goode 2
Penalties : Gray

Match Officials
: Leighton Hodges (Wales)
Assistant referees: Andrew Watson (England), Peter Huckle (England)
Timekeeper: John Burtenshaw (England)


London Irish: 15 Tom Homer, 14 Topsy Ojo, 13 Guy Armitage, 12 Sailosi Tagicakibau, 11 Marland Yarde, 10 Shane Geraghty (c), 9 Pat Phibbs, 8 Chris Hala’ufia, 7 Jebb Sinclair, 6 Matt Garvey, 5 Bryn Evans, 4 George Skivington, 3 Halani Aulika, 2 Mike Mayhew, 1 Max Lahiff.

Replacements: 16 Davey McGregor, 17 Jerry Yanuyanutawa, 18 Leo Halavatau, 19 Kieran Low, 20 Alex Gray, 21 Anthony Watson, 22 Ian Humphreys, 23 Jack Moates.

Worcester: 15 Ernie Claassens, 14 Josh Drauniniu, 13 Jon Clarke, 12 Josh Matavesi, 11 David Lemi, 10 Danny Gray, 9 Jonny Arr, 8 Blair Cowan, 7 Jake Abbott, 6 Richard de Carpentier, 5 Craig Gillies, 4 Dean Schofield (c), 3 James Currie, 2 Ollie Hayes, 1 Ceri Jones.

Replacements: 16 Ed Shervington, 17 Rob O’Donnell, 18 John Andress, 19 James Percival, 20 Sam Betty, 21 Ollie Frost, 22 Andy Goode, 23 Andy Short.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. more information

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.