Late Glasgow try kicks Northampton out of Europe

Glasgow left it until extra time to secure a 27-20 Heineken Cup victory at Scotstoun Stadium which knocked Northampton Saints out of Europe.

Replacement Peter Horne scored a sensational try in extra time to hand Glasgow the victory and end Saints hopes of playing further in either the Challenge Cup or the Heineken Cup.

The previsously winless Glasgow put in a surprisingly effective performance
which ended any hopes Northampton the 2000 champions and finalists only two
years ago had of making the last eight as a one of the two best runners-up.

George Pisi’s second-half try saw Northampton overhaul Glasgow, who had taken
a surprising 13-8 lead when South African backrow forward Josh Strauss touched
down and it was converted by Scott Wight.

The Scottish side, though, showed much more resilience than they have throughout
the sorry campaign and went back in front as Fijian scrum-half Nikola Matawalu
scored their second try which Wight also converted.

Back came Saints and England fullback Ben Foden – whose pass had been intercepted
by Matawalu for his try – brought them level with a try in the dying minutes.

But Glasgow centre Peter Horne brought the home crowd to their feet as he scored
right at the death – he converted it for good measure – to give the hosts their
long-awaited win.

Final Score Glasgow 27 (6) Northampton 20 (10)


Glasgow Warriors
Tries: Strauss, Matawalu, Horne
Conversions: Wight 2, Horne
Penalties: Jackson 2

Northampton Saints
Tries: Waldouck, Pisi, Foden
Penalties: Myler
Conversions: Myler

Match Officials
: Leighton Hodges (Wal),
Assistant ref: Gwynn Morris (Wal),
Assistant ref: Wayne Davies (Wal),
TMO: Huw Lewis (Wal),
Citing Commissioner: Maurizio Vancini (Ita)


Glasgow Warriors: Stuart Hogg; Tommy Seymour, Byron McGuigan, Graeme Morrison, Sean Maitland; Ruaridh Jackson, Nikola Matawalu; Gordon Reid, Pat MacArthur, Moray Low, Tim Swinson, Alastair Kellock (c), Josh Strauss, James Eddie, Ryan Wilson.

Replacements: Dougie Hall, Ryan Grant, Tom Ryder, Alex Dunbar, Sean Kennedy, Scott Wight, Peter Horne.

Northampton Saints: Ben Foden; James Wilson, George Pisi, Dominic Waldouck, Jamie Elliott; Stephen Myler, Lee Dickson; Soane Tonga’uiha, Dylan Hartley (c), Paul Doran-Jones, Samu Manoa, Courtney Lawes, Calum Clark, Tom Wood, Phil Dowson.

Replacements: Mike Haywood, Alex Waller, Tom Mercey, Mark Sorenson, Rhys Oakley, Martin Roberts, Ryan Lamb, Tom May

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. more information

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.