Southern Kings cut Super Rugby squad down to 40

Super Rugby’s newcomers the Southern Kings have revealed a revised squad for the 2013 Super Rugby with a few surprises in the elite group.

One of the most notable names in the previous squad was that of Tiger Mangweni but at thirty-three-years old he has been cut from the squad.

With Mangweni out of the picture for Super Rugby the Kings first choice number 12 is now likely to be Andries Strauss and New Zealander Hadleigh Parkes.

Another surprising ommission is that of speedy winger Norman Nelson which leaves Michael Killian, Sergeal Petersen and Marcello Sampson in the squad.

The squad is still expected to reduced closer to the Super Rugby kick off.

Southern Kings squad

Kevin Buys
Jaco Engels
Schalk Ferreira
Ross Geldenhuys
Lizo Gqoboka

Hannes Franklin
Virgile Lacombe
Bandise Maku
Edgar Marutlulle

Daniel Adongo
Rynier Bernardo
David Bulbring
Darron Nell
Steven Sykes

Loose Forwards
Cornell du Preez
Jacques Engelbrecht
Tomas Leonardi
Mpho Mbiyozo
Devin Oosthuizen
Wimpie van der Walt
Luke Watson

Johan Herbst
Scott Mathie
Shaun Venter
Nicolas Vergallo

Demetri Catrakilis
Wesley Dunlop
George Whitehead

Ronnie Cooke
Siyanda Grey
Waylon Murray
Hadleigh Parkes
Wayne Stevens
Andries Strauss


Michael Killian
Sergeal Petersen
Marcello Sampson


SP Marais
Siviwe Soyizwapi
Elric van Vuuren

Players who have already been cut

Forwards: Boetie Britz, Charl du Plessis, Armand du Preez, Samora Fihlani, Thabo Mamojele, Wayne van Heerden.
Backs: Ntabeni Dukisa, Shane Gates, Tiger Mangweni, Norman Nelson, Mzwandile Stick, Scott Breda.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. more information

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.