Northampton Saints shock Ulster in Heineken Cup

Northampton Saints became the first team to beat Ulster at home this season with a 9-10 victory in Pool 4 of the Heineken Cup at Ravenhill on Saturday.

Stephen Myler opened the scoring in the sixth minute of the match and then just before the 30 minute mark Gerrit-Jan van Velze scored the only try of the match.

Stephen Myler added the conversion and the visiting Saints had a comfortable 10 point lead.

Paddy Jackson opened Ulster’s account on the half an hour mark with a penalty but missed a chance to double the score four minutes later.

Two minutes from half time Jackson succeeded with a penalty kick taking the half time scores to 6-10 in favour of the visitors.

Two minutes into the second half Jackson added Ulster’s third penalty and the pressure was on for both sides.

Normally reliable kicker Ruan Pienaar missed a chance to put Ulster ahead with a penalty in the 57th minute.

Stephen Myler’s drop goal attempt 10 minutes from full time could have given Northampton a little breathing space but he too missed.

Then three minutes from full time Ulster were awarded a penalty kick which could have won them the match but again Pienaar missed and Saints held on for the victory.

Final Score Ulster 9 (6) Northampton 10 (10)


Penalties: Jackson 3

Tries: Van Velze
Penalties: Myler
Conversions: Myler

Match Officials
: Nigel Owens (Wal),
Assistant ref: Gwynn Morris (Wal),
Assistant ref: Jonathan Mason (Wal),
TMO: Derek Bevan (Wal),
Citing Commisioner: Rob Flockhart (Sco)


Ulster Rugby: Jared Payne; Tommy Bowe, Darren Cave, Paddy Wallace, Andrew Trimble; Paddy Jackson, Ruan Pienaar; Tom Court, Rory Best, John Afoa, Iain Henderson, Dan Tuohy, Nick Williams, Chris Henry (c), Roger Wilson.

Replacements: Nigel Brady, Callum Black, Ricky Lutton, Neil McComb, Robbie Diack, Paul Marshall, Luke Marshall, Craig Gilroy.

Northampton Saints: Ben Foden; Ken Pisi, George Pisi, Tom May, Jamie Elliott; Stephen Myler, Lee Dickson; Soane Tonga’uiha, Mike Haywood, Paul Doran-Jones, Samu Manoa, Calum Clark, Tom Wood, Phil Dowson (c), Gerrit-Jan van Velze.

Replacements: Ross McMillan, Alex Waller, Brian Mujati, Mark Sorenson, Courtney Lawes, Martin Roberts, Ryan Lamb, Luther Burrell.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.