SA Rugby confirms Super 14 squads

SA Rugby today confirmed the five regional squads to participate in the expanded Vodacom Rugby Super 14 competition.

Competition newcomers Vodacom Cheetahs will kick-start the competition locally when they play the Vodacom Blue Bulls in a night match on 10 February in Bloemfontein. The next day the Cats will square up against the Vodacom Stormers, while Durban-based Sharks are at home against the Chiefs.

Johan Prinsloo, Managing Director of SA Rugby, said the expanded competition means more local players will now get the opportunity to gain vital experience at the highest level. This will ultimately enable the national selectors to cast their net over a much wider range in the search to add even more players with potential to the national squad.

“If you look at our on-field performances across all national levels during the past two seasons, then I can safely say that our rugby is in good shape. We are world champions at both under 19 and under 21 level, whilst the Springboks maintained their consistently good form under Jake White.

“The Vodacom Cheetahs will make their debut this year and we are confident that they, like the four other participants, will do us proud in this exciting competition,” said Prinsloo.

The confirmed Super 14 squads for 2006 are:

Vodacom Blue Bulls:

Johan Roets, John Mametsa, Akona Ndungane, Danwell Demas, JP Nel, Rudi Coetzee, Dries Scholtz, Wynand Olivier, Bryan Habana, Trompie Nontshinga, Derick Hougaard, Morne Steyn, Heini Adams, Fourie du Preez, Jacques Cronje, Pedrie Wannenburg, Tim Dlulane, Johan Wasserman, Danie Rossouw, Adriaan Fondse, Victor Matfield, Cliffie Milton, Bakkies Botha, Francois van Schouwenburg, Andries Human, Danie Thiart, Gary Botha, Adriaan Strauss, Jaco Engels, Gurthro Steenkamp.


Conrad Jantjes, Earl Rose, Aswhin Willemse, Wylie Human, Grant Esterhuizen, Jaque Fourie, Wayne Julies, Doppies la Grange, Dewey Swartbooi, Jorrie Muller, Tiaan Snyman, Enrico Januarie, Dave von Hoesslin, Russell Winter, Cobus Grobbelaar, Wikus van Heerden, Ernest Joubert, Roland Barnard, Gerhard Vosloo, Gordon Gilfillan, Willem Stolz, Jannes Labushagne, Trevor Hall, Bertus Smith, Daniel Muller, Lucas van Biljon, James van der Walt, Lawrence Sephaka, Pietman van Niekerk.

Vodacom Cheetahs:

Bevan Fortuin, Gaffie du Toit, Eddie Fredericks, Gavin Passens, Alwyn Hollenbach, Ronnie Cooke, Keith Louwen, Barry Goodes, Vuyani Dlomo, Sinethemba Zweni, Willem de Waal, Meyer Bosman, Michael Claassens, Noel Oelschig, Ryno van der Merwe, Frans Viljoen, Juan Smith, Heinrich Stride, Gareth Krause, Kabamba Floors, Giscard Pieterse, Wayne van Heerden, Corniel van Zyl, CJ van der Linde, Jannie du Plessis, Tiaan Liebenberg, Trevor Leota, Ollie le Roux, Os du Randt, Wian du Preez.


JP Pietersen, Brent Russell, Cedric Mkhize, Grant Rees, Waylon Murray, Adrian Jacobs, Gcobani Bobo, Andries Strauss, Odwa Ndungane, Henno Mentz, Percy Montgomery, Craig Davidson, Sandile Nxumalo, Ruan Pienaar, Jacques Botes, Daniel Farani, Nico Breedt, Warren Britz, Solly Tyibilika, Johann Muller, Albert van den Berg, Johan Ackermann, Steven Sykes, AJ Venter, BJ Botha, Danie Saayman, Skipper Badenhorst, Bismarck du Plessis, Deon Carstens, Brent Moyle.

Vodacom Stormers:

Werner Greeff, Tonderai Chavhanga, Rayno Benjamin, Egon Seconds, Marius Joubert, Jean de Villiers, De Wet Barry, Jonghi Nokwe, Peter Grant, Naas Olivier, Neil de Kock, Paul Delport, Bolla Conradie, Adri Badenhorst, Justin Melck, Schalk Burger, Hendrik Gerber, Luke Watson, Henk Eksteen, Andries Bek

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. more information

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.