Leicester Tigers vs L.Irish LV= Cup preview

London Irish have named England Internationals Alex Corbisiero and Jonathan Joseph in their starting line up for Leicester Tigers in the Anglo Welsh LV=Cup clash.

As well as the England internationals the Exiles have also named Scotland hooker, Scott Lawson in the starting line up.

Matt Garvey and George Skivington will form the Exiles second row partnership and Alex Gray starts at Number 8. Tom Homer, who today signed a new contract with the club, has recovered from injury to be named as a replacement.

London Irish Director of Rugby Brian Smith said: “Travelling to Welford Road is always a difficult task whatever competition you play Leicester in. They are a formidable side so we will have to perform to our best if we are to come away with a result.”

Leicester have brought Rob Hawkins and Brett Deacon back rom injury. Tigers hooker Hawkins makes his first start of the season alongside Boris Stankovich and Fraser Balmain in the front row, while Deacon will captain the team on his return from a hand injury.

Scrum-half Micky Young starts for the first time on home ground this season, and summer signing Dan Bowden returns to the backline against his former club. Mathew Tait continues his return from a lengthy injury absence with another start at full-back.

Teenage wing Henry Purdy, who was included in the starting line-up for the opening round against Saracens last Friday in his first senior appearance for the club, is included among the replacements.

Tigers are the LV= Cup holders after lifting the trophy last season, but lost the opening match in their defence of the title against Saracens at Bedford last week.

Match : Leicester Tigers vs London Irish
Date : Sunday 18 November 2012
Venue : Welford Road
Kick Off : 3pm
Live on: N/A


London Wasps: 15 Hugo Southwell (c), 14 Jack Wallace, 13 Elliot Daly, 12 Chris Bell, 11 Tom Varndell, 10 Tommy Bell, 9 Jonah Holmes, 8 Ashley Johnson, 7 Matt Everard, 6 Sam Jones, 5 Josh Brown, 4 James Cannon, 3 Phil Swainston, 2 Tom Lindsay, 1 Simon McIntyre.

Replacements: 16 Nathan Morris, 17 Tim Payne, 18 Will Taylor, 19 Dave Hughes, 20 James Haskell, 21 Charlie Davies, 22 Lee Thomas, 23 Chris Mayor.

Worcester Warriors: 15 Errie Claassens, 14 Nikki Walker, 13 Alex Grove, 12 Jon Clarke, 11 Andy Short, 10 Joe Carlisle, 9 Jonny Arr, 8 Blair Cowan, 7 Jake Abbott, 6 Richard de Carpentier, 5 Craig Gillies, 4 Dean Schofield (c), 3 Rob O’Donnell, 2 Ollie Hayes, 1 Ceri Jones,

Replacements: 16 Ed Shervington, 17 Ryan Furniss, 18 James Currie, 19 Chris Jones, 20 Neil Best, 21 Paul Hodgson, 22 Andy Goode, 23 Ben Howard.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. more information

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.