Ireland name Jackson at 10 for Fijian Test

Ireland have named their team to play Fiji at Thomond Park on Saturday with three three uncapped players included in the starting XV alongside a number of new faces.

Mike Ross, Conor Murray and Ireland captain Jamie Heaslip have been retained from the team that started against South Africa last weekend.

Former Ireland U-20 Paddy Jackson will partner Murray in the half backs with his provincial colleagues Luke Marshall and Darren Cave forming the centre partnership outside him.

The back three comprises the uncapped Craig Gilroy on the left wing with Fergus McFadden on the right and Denis Hurley at fullback.

Up front David Kilcoyne, who won his first cap last weekend, completes the front row with Sean Cronin while Dan Tuohy and Donncha O’Callaghan make up the second row.

Heaslip anchors the scrum with Iain Henderson and John Muldoon named at 6 and 7.


15 .Denis Hurley , 14 . Fergus McFadden , 13 . Darren Cave, 12 . Luke Marshall , 11 . Craig Gilroy , 10 . Paddy Jackson, 9 – Conor Murray , 1 . David Kilcoyne, 2 – Sean Cronin , 3 – Mike Ross , 4 – Donncha O’Callaghan , 5 . Dan Tuohy , 6 – Iain Henderson , 7 . John Muldoon , 8 – Jamie Heaslip

Replacements:16 – Richardt Strauss , 17 – Cian Healy , 18 – Michael Bent , 19 – Donncha Ryan , 20 – Chris Henry , 21 – Paul Marshall , 22 – Jonathan Sexton , 23 – Simon Zebo

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. more information

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.