London Welsh secure Bath Premiership victory

London Welsh secured their first victory over Bath since 1979 when they came away 16-9 winners at Oxford’s Kassam Stadium in the Aviva Premiership on Sunday afternoon.

A late Nick Scott try handed London Welsh a priceless victory in their fight for Premiership survival.

Although the visitors had the best of the chances in the first period, it was Welsh who proved more adept at taking their opportunities as two Gavin Henson penalties put them into a 6-3 lead.

Stephen Donald slotted one of his own before the break and added two more in the second-half to move the West Country side ahead.

However, Gordon Ross equalised before Scott went over to take the Exiles eight points clear of Sale Sharks.

It was the hosts that controlled the early spells of play, but their fly-half failed to convert a penalty opportunity.

The former Wales international made up for that miss after 10 minutes as the Oxford-based outfit took a 3-0 lead.

Bath then threatened to cross the whitewash with several phases near the opposition line but the Exiles’ defence held firm.

And they were rewarded for their resilience when Henson gave them a six-point cushion with a second three-pointer. However, the visitors continued to press and Donald’s kick reduced the gap.

London Welsh have so far adapted well to Aviva Premiership rugby and the first-half exemplified that, but they were up against a powerful side in Gary Gold’s men from Bath.

They continued to hold their own, but it was no surprise to see the Kiwi fly-half level the match with 50 minutes gone.

And Donald put Bath into the lead for the first time after the hosts infringed at a line-out. But that only served to spur the Exiles on, though, and Ross made the score 9-9 with a penalty before Scott’s interception stole the win at the death

Final Score London Welsh 16 (6) Bath 9 (3)


London Welsh
Tries : Scott
Penalties: Henson 2,Ross
Conversions: Ross
Drop Goal :

Tries :
Penalties: Donald 3
Conversions :
Drop Goal :

Match Officials
Referee: Andrew Small (78th Premiership game)
Assistant Referees: Nigel Carrick, Stuart Terheege.


London Welsh

15. Tom Arscott, 14. Nick Scott, 13. Sonny Parker, 12. Gavin Henson, 11. Tom Voyce, 10. Gordon Ross, 9. Nick Runciman, 1. Tom Bristow, 2. Neil Briggs, 3. Paulica Ion, 4. Martin Purdy, 5. Matt Corker, 6. Jonathan Mills (c), 7. Michael Hills, 8. Lee Beach.

Replacements: 16. Dan George, 17. Bill Moss, 18. Arthur Joly, 19. Adam Brown, 20. Mike Denbee, 21. Tyson Keats, 22. Seb Jewell, 23. James Lewis.

Bath Rugby

15 Nick Abendanon, 14 Kyle Eastmond, 13 Matt Banahan, 12 Ben Williams, 11 Tom Biggs, 10 Stephen Donald, 9 Michael Claassens, 8 Ben Skirving, 7 Will Skuse, 6 Stuart Hooper (c), 5 Dave Attwood, 4 Dominic Day, 3 Anthony Perenise, 2 Lee Mears, 1 Paul James

Replacements:16 Brett Sharman,17 Charlie Beech,18 Kane Palma-Newport,19 Will Spencer,20 Guy Mercer,21 Mark McMillan,22 Sam Vesty,23 Horacio Agulla

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. more information

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.