Cheetahs stay in Currie Cup after Kings triumph

The Free State Cheetahs will remain part of the Premier Division of next year’s Currie Cup competition after beating the Eastern Province Kings 16-6 in the second of the promotion/relegation matches in Port Elizabeth on Friday.

The visitors all but secured their place in their first playoff match in Bloemfontein, and only needed a single bonus point in the second encounter.

The Kings, however, produced a much better performance and were able to compete in the second fixture.

The Kings led 6-0 for most of the game and only a man short on defence created the overlap for the visitors to score the only try of the game.

The Kings opened the scoring in the fourth minute through a George Whitehead penalty.

Cheetahs Flyhalf Sias Ebersohn missed two penalties in the first 30 minutes, putting the visitors under even more pressure.

The turning point, it seemed, came in the 32nd minute when Kings scrumhalf Noel Oelschig was red carded for a punch.

The Cheetahs looked more settled in the second half and put together some probing attacks.

The Cheetahs scored their first points on the hour mark, to reduce the deficit to three points through a penalty.

It proved to be the catalyst for the visitors, as Ebersohn scored in the corner in the 62nd minute, after the Kings ran out of steam with one man short on the defence.

Scheepers converted and later slotted two penalties to give his side a 16-6 victory.

Final Score EP Kings 6 (6) Free State Cheetahs 10 (0)


EP Kings
Penalties: George Whitehead (2)

Free State Cheetahs
Tries: Sias Ebersohn
Conversions: Nico Scheepers
Penalties: Nico Scheepers (3).

Referee: Craig Joubert
Assistants: Quintin Immelman, Cobus Wessels
Television Match Official: Johann Meuwesen


Eastern Province Kings: 15 Michael Killian14 Norman Nelson 13 Paul Perez12 Tiger Mangweni, 11 Siviwe Soyizwapi,10 George Whitehead, 9 Falie Oelschig, 8 Devin Oosthuizen, 7 Wimpie van der Walt,6 Boetie Britz, 5 Rynier Bernado, 4 Darron Nell (c),3 Andre Schlechter, 2 Hannes Franklin, 1 Schalk Ferreira.

Replacements: 16 Frank Herne, 17 Lizo Gqoboka, 18 David Bullbring, 19 Mpho Mbiyozo, 20 Scott Mathie, 21 Wesley Dunlop, 22 Scott van Breda.

Free State Cheetahs: 15 Hennie Daniller, 14 Ryno Benjamin, 13 Robert Ebersohn, 12 Philip Snyman, 11 Raymond Rhule, 10 Sias Ebersohn, 9 Sarel Pretorius, 8 Philip van der Walt, 7 Davon Raubenheimer, 6 Hendro Scholtz, 5 Izak van der Westhuizen, 4 Francois Uys, 3 Ross Geldenhuys, 2 Adriaan Strauss (c), 1 Marcel van der Merwe.

Replacements: 16 Hercu Liebenberg, 17 Schalk van der Merwe, 18 Carl Wegner, 19 Henco Venter, 20 Tewis de Bruyn, 21 Barry Geel, 22 Nico Scheepers.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. more information

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.