Sharks name Currie Cup Semi-final team for Bulls

Sharks coach John Plumtree has made a number of changes to his team to contest the Currie Cup sem-final against the Blue Bulls at Kings Park.

Jean Deysel has been named to win his 50th Currie Cup cap for the Sharks this weekend.

Plumtree has moved JP Pietersen to the right wing in place of Odwa Ndungane who picked up an ankle injury against Griquas last weekend.

Jacques Botes, another player under an injury cloud (back), also failed to make it through and will miss out this week.

The third player facing a late decision was Steven Sykes who has been bracketed in with Peet Marais on the bench.

Springboks Lwazi Mvovo and Jannie du Plessis who were on the bench last weekend have been moved into the starting line up while while Beast Mtawarira and Willem Alberts, who were rested last week following their heavy workload in the Rugby Championship, have been recalled and will feature off the bench.

“We’re starting Jannie, it’s a big game and he had some Currie Cup action last week,” said Plumtree on the Sharks site.

“He’ll be partnered by Dale Chadwick and Kyle Cooper, and then we have a whole front row on the bench with Craig Burden, Beast and Wiehahn Herbst. It could be wet and having Willem Alberts and someone with experience like Steven Sykes on the bench will be important because how we finish the game off could be vital.

“There were a lot of choices, but I don’t think we could ignore what the guys have achieved without the guys who are now back. And we also couldn’t ignore the importance of experience.

“Everyone is just really excited.”

The Sharks

15. Louis Ludik , 14. JP Pietersen , 13. Paul Jordaan , 12. Tim Whitehead , 11. Lwazi Mvovo , 10. Pat Lambie , 9. Cobus Reinach , 8. Keegan Daniel (Capt) , 7. Jean Deysel , 6. Marcell Coetzee , 5. Anton Bresler , 4. Jandre Marais , 3. Jannie du Plessis , 2. Kyle Cooper , 1. Dale Chadwick

Replacements : 16. Craig Burden , 17. Tendai Mtawarira , 18. Wiehahn Herbst , 19. Steven Sykes / Peet Marais , 20. Willem Alberts , 21. Charl McLeod , 22. Meyer Bosman

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. more information

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.