Exeter Chiefs upset Harlequins at Sandy Park

Exeter Chiefs handed Harlequins their second defeat of the season when they beat the Premiership Champions 42-28 at Sandy Park on Saturday.

A Gareth Steenson penalty in the third minute got the ball rolling for the
Chiefs and, though Nick Evans responded in kind shortly after, a converted try
from Brett Sturgess, scored following a break from Luke Arscott, gave Exeter
a seven-point lead. inside the first fifteen minutes.

The two teams traded further penalties shortly after before Quins put themselves
back into the contest when Evans charged down a Steenson kick to score an unconverted

Steenson made partial amends when he struck a penalty just before half-time,
although Ugo Monye’s converted try on the hooter cut the Chiefs’ lead to just
two points.

Many expected the tide to turn in the second period but Exeter got off to the
perfect start when Ben White burst over from close range following an eye-catching
length-of-the-pitch break.

Quins hit back just before the hour when Karl Dickson crossed after Rory Clegg’s
interception and the conversion from Clegg put the visitors back within two.

The match was still anyone’s for the taking in the final 20 minutes and it was
Exeter who were able to take proceedings by the scruff of the neck.

A quickfire brace of tries from Jason Shoemark – the second converted by Steenson
– put real daylight between the sides for the first time and there would be
no Quins comeback this time.

Clegg’s penalty in the closing stages pegged the Chiefs back temporarily, but
Sireli Naqelevuki ensured the hosts had the final word when he bulldozed his
way over the line to send the Sandy Park faithful into raptures.

Final Score Exeter 42 (16) Harlequins 28 (18)


Exeter Chiefs
Tries: Sturgess, White, Shoemark 2, Naqelevuki
Penalties: Steenson 4
Conversions: Steenson 3

Tries: Evans, Monye, Dickson
Penalties: Evans 2, Clegg
Conversions: Evans, Clegg

Match Officials
Martin Fox (82nd Premiership game)
Assistant Referees: Peter Huckle, Gareth Copsey.


Exeter Chiefs

15 Luke Arscott , 14 Ian Whitten , 13 Phil Dollman , 12 Jason Shoemark , 11 Matt Jess , 10 Gareth Steenson , 9 Haydn Thomas , 8 Richard Baxter (capt), 7 Ben White , 6 Tom Johnson , 5 James Hanks, 4 Dean Mumm , 3 Carl Rimmer , 2 Simon Alcott ,1 Brett Sturgess

Replacements : 16 Neil Clark , 17 Ben Moon , 18 Chris Budgen , 19 Aly Muldowney , 20 Dave Ewers , 21 Will Chudley , 22 Ignacio Mieres , 23 Sireli Naqelevuki


15 Mike Brown , 14. Seb Stegmann , 13. Matt Hopper , 12. Jordan Turner-Hall , 11. Ugo Monye , 10. Nick Evans , 9. Karl Dickson , 8. Nick Easter, 7. Chris Robshaw (c) , 6. Tom Guest , 5. George Robson , 4. Olly Kohn , 3. James Johnston, 2. Joe Gray ,1. Mark Lambert

Replacements : 16. Rob Buchanan , 17. Joe Marler , 18. Will Collier , 19. Charlie Matthews , 20. Maurie Fa’asavalu , 21. Danny Care , 22. Rory Clegg , 23. Ollie Lindsay-Hague

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. more information

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.