Corry up for unprecedented award double

The nominees for the 2006/07 Guinness Premiership Awards have been announced, with the treble-chasing Leicester Tigers boasting three contenders in the coveted Player of the Season category.

Joining the Tigers trio of Martin Castrogiovanni, Martin Corry and Shane Jennings are Saracens fly-half Glen Jackson and Bristol loose forward Roy Winters.

Should Martin Corry win, he would be the first player to win the award twice, having won for his performance in the 2004/5 season.

Three London Wasps players are included in the Discovery of the Season category with James Haskell, Tom Rees and Dominic Waldouck being nominated alongside Toby Flood of Newcastle Falcons and Gloucester’s Ryan Lamb.

The winners will be announced at the Guinness Premiership Awards dinner on Wednesday, 9 May at Lord’s Cricket Ground.

Nominees for the award have been complied by a panel consisting of Andrew Baldock (Press Association), Mick Cleary (Daily Telegraph), Miles Harrison (SKY Sports), Stephen Jones (The Sunday Times), Barry Newcombe (Hayters), Dave Rogers (Getty Images) and Phil Winstanley (Premier Rugby).

Award Nominees:

Guinness Premiership Player of the Season:
Martin Castrogiovanni (Leicester Tigers)
Martin Corry (Leicester Tigers)
Glen Jackson (Saracens)
Shane Jennings (Leicester Tigers)
Roy Winters (Bristol)

Land Rover Discovery of the Season:
Toby Flood (Newcastle Falcons) – 21
James Haskell (London Wasps) – 22
Ryan Lamb (Gloucester) – 20
Tom Rees (London Wasps) – 22
Dominic Waldouck (London Wasps) – 19

EDF Energy Community Player of the Season:
Richard Haughton (Saracens)
Matt Perry (Bath)
Dale Rasmussen (Worcester Warriors)
Dave Walder (London Wasps)

O2 Director of Rugby of the Season:
Alan Gaffney (Saracens)
Richard Hill (Bristol)
Patrick Howard (Leicester Tigers)
Dean Ryan (Gloucester)

MBNA Try of the Season:
Nick Abendanon (Bath v Leicester Tigers)
Tom May (Newcastle Falcons v Sale Sharks)
Ben Cohen (Northampton Saints v NEC Harlequins)
Mark Foster (Gloucester v NEC Harlequins)
Kieran Roche (London Irish v Bristol)
Tom Varndell (Leicester Tigers v London Irish)

Gilbert Golden Boot:
Olly Barkley (Bath)
Glen Jackson (Saracens)
Adrian Jarvis (NEC Harlequins)

Gillette Power Award:
Alex Brown (Gloucester)
Mark Cueto (Sale Sharks)
Bruce Reihana (Northampton Saints)
Roy Winters (Bristol)


365 Digital

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. more information

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.