Western Province secure first Currie Cup victory

Western Province bounced back from their home loss to the Sharks last week by beating Griquas 20-25 in Kimberley for their first Currie Cup victory of the new season.

Griquas started at a ferocious pace and put together some useful phases of play, but lacked the clinical touch deep in the WP half.

WP were on the back in the opening minutes, but regained composure to show their class late in the contest.

Griquas maintained their attacking play and drew first blood after lock Ligtoring Landman dove over in the corner.

The forward rounded-off after some good interplay between the pack and backs.

Fullback Francois Brummer failed to convert Landman’s opener, but it wasn’t long before Griquas again caught WP’s defence napping, as winger Wilmaure Louw rounded of in the corner.

Brummer was on target with his second attempt to give the Kimberley outfit the early advantage.

The visitors had their first real chance to get on the board when flyhalf Demitri Catrakilis took a penalty shot at goal, but his attempt in a swirling wind went wide.

WP finally scored after Griquas were beaten in defence through a sustained period of attack.

Winger Ederies Arendse ran 25 metres for the highlight of a very poor first half by the visitors, the score 12-7 at the break.

Brummer kicked a penalty early in the second period, but Province launched a come-back through centre JP du Plessis, who scored after a quick tap to get his team within three points of Griquas.

Griquas were forced to defend their lead and made several crucial tackles, but their tired bodies showed in the last 15 minutes as WP drove them back into their own area.

Province used it to their advantage and prop Steven Kitshoff dove over under the posts after some slack defence by the hosts.

Griquas tried to salvage a bonus point and succeeded when lock Jaco Nepgen burst over, but with two minutes on the clock and the conversion to come, the hosts narrowly missed out to their Western Cape counterparts.

Final Score Griquas 20 (12) Western Province 25 (7)


Tries – Ligtoring Landman, Wilmaure Louw, Jaco Nepgen
Pen – Francois Brummer
Con – Francois Brummer
Drop –
Cards –

Western Province
Tries – Ederies Arendse, JP du Plessis, Steven Kitshoff
Pen – Demetri Catrakilis 2
Con – Demetri Catrakilis 2
Drop –
Cards –

Referee: Sindile Mayende
Assistants: Marius Jonker, Reuben Rossouw
Television match official: Gerrie Coetzee


Griquas (15-1): Francois Brummer, Wilmaure Louw, Jean Stemmet, Stefan Watermeyer, Rocco Jansen, Marnitz Boshoff, Jacques Coetzee, Leon Karemaker, Justin Downey, Wesley Wilkins, Martin Muller, Ligtoring Landman, Lourens Adriaanse, Ryno Barnes (c), Steph Roberts.

Western Province (15-1): Gio Aplon, Gerhard van den Heever, JP du Plessis, Marcel Brache, Ederies Arendse, Demetri Catrakilis, Louis Schreuder, Duane Vermeulen, Jebb Sinclair, Tyrone Holmes, De Kock Steenkamp, Don Armand, Frans Malherbe, Deon Fourie (c), Steven Kitshoff.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. more information

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.