Province forced to make one change in Currie Cup

Tiaan Liebenberg’s Springbok call-up has necessitated a late change to the Western Province team ahead of Saturday’s Currie Cup meeting with GWK Griquas in Kimberley.

With Liebenberg having joined the Bok squad as a replacement for the injured Chiliboy Ralepelle, WP captain Deon Fourie has been moved from flank to his regular position of hooker.

Tyrone Holmes has been shifted across to take over Fourie’s No.6 jersey, with Canadian Jebb Sinclair promoted from the bench to take up the No.7 position.

Yaya Hartzenberg, who warmed the bench against the Sharks last weekend, will come into the matchday squad in jersey No.19.

The revised Western Province team to take on GWK Griquas is as follows:

15. Gio Aplon,14. Gerhard van den Heever,13. JP du Plessis,12. Marcel Brache (vice-captain),11. Ederies Arendse,10. Demetri Catrakilis,9. Louis Schreuder,8. Duane Vermeulen,7. Jebb Sinclair,6. Tyrone Holmes,5. De Kock Steenkamp,4. Don Armand,3. Frans Malherbe,2. Deon Fourie (captain),1. Steven Kitshoff

Replacements:16. Siyabonga Ntubeni,17. Brok Harris,18. Wilhelm van der Sluys,19. Yaya Hartzenberg,20. Nic Groom,21. Kurt Coleman,22. Damian de Allende,

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. more information

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.