Lions make two changes for Stormers at Newlands

The Golden Lions have named their team to face the Stormers at Newlands on Saturday with two changes to the team that beat the Sharks before the Super Rugby break.

Lions coach John Mitchell remains suspended so Johan Ackermann and Carlos Spencer have changed the front row with Jacobie Adriaanse coming into the starting line up to replace Pat Cilliers and JC Janse van Rensburg replacing CJ Van der Linde.

Cilliers was ruled out due to injury and Van der Linde is in a race against time to play against the Stormers due to injury as well.

Lions’ captain Joshua Strauss says the side is determined to claim the scalp of the Stormers in Saturday’s Super Rugby clash at Newlands.

“Everyone is focused on Saturday. We know we’ve got a tough task ahead of us,” Strauss said on Thursday.

“The Stormers are a very good team and it is a game that we really want to win as a team and we are going to win it for each other.”

He said the team had a fairly normal build-up to the weekend, despite the controversy surrounding the coach’s suspension.

“The guys have been training really well, especially Tuesday was a great training day and the feeling in the camp is great.”

Strauss felt the three-week hiatus from Super Rugby, during the inbound England tour, might have dampened some of the momentum they got from their victory over the Sharks before the break.

“Looking at the pros and cons, I think we would have liked to take that momentum into the next week, and we had the three week break for the Springbok Tests,” he said.

“I think it was a brilliant game for us, especially looking back at the season that we’ve had injury and loss wise.”

However, he said the team remained in positive spirits after the 38-28 victory over the Sharks at Ellis Park.

“The feeling in the camp is still very good. The guys are pumped,” he said.

“We take great confidence out of a win like that, especially against a strong team like the Sharks — a team that is really a contender for the semis, final etcetera.”

Interim coach Johan Ackermann said at the team announcement on Thursday that it was encouraging to have some continuity in selection, as he made only two changes to the run-on side.

“It is good to know you’ve got the same loose trio, same locks, same nine and 10 and centres for a change. It keeps the continuity going,” said Ackermann.


Andries Coetzee, Deon Van Rensburg, Lionel Mapoe, Butch James, Anthonie Volminck, Elton Jantjies, Tian Meyer, Joshua Strauss (c), Grant Hattingh, Derick Minnie, Franco Van der Merwe, Hendrik Roodt, Jacobie Adriaanse, Callie Visagie, JC Janse van Rensburg

Reserves: Martin Bezuidenhout, CJ van der Linde / Ruaan Dreyer, Ruan Botha, Jaco Kriel, Michael Bodesio, Waylon Murray, Ruan Combrinck

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. more information

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.