Argentina leave it late to beat France

Argentina wing Manuel Montero scored a late try to earn the Pumas a 23-20 victory over France in Cordoba on Saturday.

The Pumas had to come from behind to beat France as they trailed 14-at at half time.

Debutant Manuel Montero scored a late winning try for Argentina on Saturday, which narrowly defeated France at the Mario Kempes stadium.

France had the better possession, but mistakes handed Argentina a try in each half, while France could only manage one try.

France haven’t won a game in Argentina against Los Pumas since 1998, but will get a chance in the final game of its two-game tour on June 23 in Tucuman.

Both sides were using the game as a chance to experiment with their starting lineups, with each fielding two debutants from the start.

It was Montero who made the key play of the game.

He chased down a kick forward in the 77th minute, took the ball under control and avoided two tackles to make it 21-20 to the home side.

For France, it was a third successive defeat after a 24-22 loss to England and a 16-9 beating by Wales in the Six Nations earlier in the year.

Argentina, who defeated Italy 37-22 last weekend, will face France again next Saturday in Tucuman

Final Score Argentina 23 (14) France 20 (13)


Tries: Belisario Agulla, Manuel Montero
Penalties: Felipe Contepomi 3
Conversions: Contepomi 2

Try: Louis Picamoles
Penalties: Morgan Parra 4, Francois Trinh-Duc

Match Official
George Clancy (IRL)

Argentina (15-1)

Roman Miralles, Belisario Agulla, Joaquin Tuculet, Felipe Contepomi (capt), Manuel Montero, Ignacio Mieres, Martin Landajo, Tomas Leonardi, Tomas De la Vega, Julio Farias Cabello, Esteban Lozada, Benjamin Macome, Nahuel Tetaz Chaparro, Bruno Postiglioni, Eusebio Guinazu.

Replacements: Andres Bordoy, Pablo Henn, Rodrigo Bruno, Rodrigo Baez, Tomas Cubelli, Benjamin Urdapilleta, Facundo Barrea.

France (15-1)

Brice Dulin, Jean Marcellin Buttin, Wesley Fofana, Florian Fritz, Yoann Huget, Francois Trinh Duc, Morgan Parra, Louis Picamoles, Fulgence Ouedraogo, Wenceslas Lauret, Yoan Maestri, Pascal Pape (capt), David Attoub, Dimitri Szarzewski, Yvan Watremez.

Replacements: Christopher Tolofua, Vincent Debaty, Romain Taofifenua, Alexandre Lapandry, Maxime Machenaud, Frederic Michalak, Maxime Mermoz.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. more information

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.