Reds name touring squad to face Brumbies

The Reds have delayed naming their team to face the Brumbies this weekend and instead named a 23-man squad that will travel to Canberra.

The 23-man squad flying to Canberra on Friday morning consists of the same 22-man line-up used in the Reds’ bonus-point victory over the Lions at the weekend, along with returning flanker Beau Robinson.

A win on Saturday against the Brumbies is crucial to the Reds’ finals charge but will also see Queensland gain possession of the Rod Macqueen Cup for the first time.

The Cup was first won in 2005 by the Brumbies and is now up for grabs annually as part of a two-game series between the Reds and Brumbies during each Super Rugby season.

To secure possession of the Cup it’s a requirement to win both games played during a series with the previous year’s Cup holder maintaining the silverware should wins be split equally.

The Reds are on the verge of gaining possession of the Cup after recording a 20-13 victory over the Brumbies at Suncorp Stadium earlier in the year.

Reds coach Ewen McKenzie will finalise and announce his starting line-up on Friday afternoon ahead of Saturday’s crucial encounter against a Brumbies side eight points clear on top of the Australian Conference table.

“We have a lot of respect for what the Brumbies have done this year but we will enter the game with some confidence following our win against them earlier in the season and our performances over the past few weeks,” McKenzie said.

“We also showed last year, where we became the first Queensland team ever to win in Canberra, that we are capable of success in the nation’s capital.

“There’s plenty at stake in this one and we’re expecting a rugged encounter. The Brumbies will have their biggest crowd of the year and it will be a hostile environment.

“But this just adds to our motivation. We’ve never hid from a challenge before and we also have an opportunity to add to our trophy cabinet.”

Reds touring squad


Ben Daley, Saia Faingaa, Liam Gill, Scott Higginbotham, James Hanson, Greg Holmes, James Horwill (c), Eddie Quirk, Beau Robinson, Jake Schatz, James Slipper, Rob Simmons, Adam Wallace-Harrison


Quade Cooper, Chris F’Sautia, Anthony Faingaa, Nick Frisby, Will Genia (vc), Mike Harris, Digby Ioane, Ben Lucas, Luke Morahan, Dom Shipperley.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. more information

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.