London Irish smash Gloucester to finish seventh

London Irish smashed Gloucester 52-18 in their final Aviva Premiership match and the result moves the Exiles to seventh and above Gloucester in the Premiership.

Neither side headed into the match in good form, although the Exiles had narrowly beaten Worcester a week earlier to end a seven defeats.

And it was the hosts who took a stranglehold on this contest within the the first 15 minutes. Four Tom Homer penalties got the Exiles off the mark, though Gloucester responded with a three-pointer of their own courtesy of Freddie Burns.

The visitors then went on to cross for the game’s first try, with Tom Voyce crossing the line in the 23rd minute for a score that Burns couldn’t convert.

That put Gloucester within four points of the Exiles and it would prove to be the closest they’d get to their hosts, who kicked a further penalty and crossed for three tries to establish a handsome half-time lead.

Darren Allinson, Sailosi Tagicakibau and Jonathon Joseph were the men to get over the line, with Homer converting two of the three tries and Burns adding a second penalty for Gloucester to make it 34-11 at the interval.

There was drama seven minutes into the second half when Irish’s David Paice and Gloucester’s Jim Hamilton were both shown red cards for fighting, although Homer settled home nerves ten minutes later with a penalty goal.

Time was running out for Gloucester and the home side further extended their lead in the final quarter thanks to unconverted tries from Marland Yarde, who grabbed two, and Delon Armitage.

Although it was the visitors who had the final say with a late consolation try from Voyce.

London Irish (34) 52 Gloucester (11) 18


London Irish
Tries: Allinson, Tagicakibau, Joseph, Yarde 2, D Armitage
Cons: Homer 2
Pens: Homer 6

Tries: Voyce 2
Cons: F Burns
Pens: F Burns 2

Referee: Dave Pearson (163rd Premiership game)


London Irish

15. Tom Homer; 14. Delon Armitage ; 13. Jonathan Joseph; 12. Joe Ansbro ; 11. Sailosi Tagicakibau ; 10. Steve Shingler; 9. Darren Allinson; 1. Max Lahiff; 2. David Paice ; 3. Leo Halavatau; 4. Bryn Evans ; 5. Bob Casey (Captain); 6. Jamie Gibson; 7. David Sisi; 8. Ofisa Treviranus

Replacements: 16. James Buckland; 17. Paulica Ion ; 18. Faan Rautenbach ; 19. Matt Garvey; 20. Kieran Roche; 21. Marland Yarde; 22. Adrian Jarvis; 23. Ross Samson


Tom Voyce; Charlie Sharples, Jonny May, Mike Tindall, Ollie Phillips; Freddie Burns, Dave Lewis; Dan Murphy, Darren Dawidiuk, Rupert Harden; Jim Hamilton (capt), Alex Brown; Tom Savage, Alasdair Strokosch, Matt Cox

Replacements:Scott Lawson, Yann Thomas, Shaun Knight, Peter Buxton, Akapusi Qera, Dan Robson, Tim Taylor, Ian Clark

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. more information

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.