Preview: Bristol v Leicester

Leicester Tigers head coach Pat Howard has made thirteen changes to his starting line-up for this Tuesday’s trip to face Bristol at Ashton Gate.

Only Alex Moreno and Tom Varndell are called into action again following Tigers’ hard-fought semi-final victory over Llanelli Scarlets in the Heineken Cup on Saturday afternoon.

Leo Cullen, who was a second-half replacement against the Scarlets, captains the side from the second row, where he is joined by fellow international James Hamilton.

James Buckland and Michael Holford link up with Moreno in the front row, while Tom Croft and Luke Abraham are selected on the flanks, with England Saxon Jordan Crane at number eight.

There’s an all-Irish combination at half-back where Frank Murphy partners Ian Humphreys, while Matt Cornwell and Ollie Smith start in the centres.

Leon Lloyd and Johne Murphy join Varndell in the back three, with brothers Ben and Tom Youngs among the replacements.

Meanwhile, Bristol have named an unchanged starting line-up for their Guinness Premiership clash at home.

Bristol coach Richard Hill keeps faith with the starting line-up that defeated Worcester at the Memorial Stadium over Easter weekend in what amounts to a must win game for Bristol.

Bristol currently occupy fifth place in the Guinness Premiership table, one spot outside the play-off places, but just one place behind fourth placed London Wasps and with a superior number of league wins.

The only change to the side sees All Black David Hill named on the bench after more than two months on the sidelines having suffered a compound fracture of his little finger in the victory over Newcastle Falcons on February 18.

Bristol: 15 Luke Arscott, 14 Lee Robinson, 13 Neil Brew, 12 Sam Cox, 11 David Lemi, 10 Danny Gray, 9 Shaun Perry, 8 Andrew Blowers, 7 Joe El Abd, 6 Alfie To’oala, 5 Gareth Llewellyn (c), 4 Roy Winters, 3 Darren Crompton, 2 Mark Regan, 1 Dave Hilton,
Replacements: 16 Scott Linklater, 17 Alex Clarke, 18 Sean Hohneck, 19 Nathan Budgett, 20 Greg Nicholls, 21 David Hill, 22 Brian Lima

Leceister:15 Johne Murphy, 14 Leon Lloyd, 13 Ollie Smith, 12 Matt Cornwell, 11 Tom Varndell, 10 Ian Humphreys, 9 Frank Murphy, 8 Jordan Crane, 7 Luke Abraham, 6 Tom Croft, 5 James Hamilton, 4 Leo Cullen (c), 3 Michael Holford, 2 James Buckland, 1 Alex Moreno
Replacements: 16 Gavin Hickie, 17 David Young, 18 Louis Deacon, 19 Brett Deacon, 20 Ben Youngs, 21 Tom Youngs, 22 Paul Burke

Date: Tuesday 24 April
Venue: Ashton Gate
Kick-off: 19:45 (18:45 GMT)


365 Digital

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. more information

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.