Stormers give Auckland the Blues



The Stormers have won and lost in sequence this year, and after losing last week are due for a victory this week.

That’s how the Stormers play – absolute inconsistency matched with an ability to beat most teams in the competition.

The Blues have been the form side of the competition, and have overcome the very problems that plague the Stormers to become a side of power and skill who could intimidate any side in the world.

But the Sharks demonstrated last week that one needs not be intimidated. Get in the face of the Blues, kick to the corner, and they can be nullified.

If the Stormers have the discipline to do just that, they have the players to take the subsequent opportunities to seal the deal.

Match detail


The Stormers lead the Blues by 20 points to 13 at half time in the last game in Round 12 of the 2007 Super 14.


The Blues took the lead and scored the first try of the match after only two minutes.


The Blues have scored one try and the Stormers have scored two tries.


The Blues captain Troy Flavell was sent to the bin for 10 minutes. The carding was a little strange but he had been up to some funny business earlier on it should be said.
Score at half time Stormers 20 Blues 13 
The Stormers turned up the heat in the second half and Jean De Villiers scored a great try out running Joe Rokocoko from an intercept.


The Blues ended strong and had they played they way the did at the death when they were in the hunt for a losing bonus point they could have won the match. Perhaps.


The result is an excellent one for South African rugby and will help both the Bulls and the Sharks in their hunt for a home Semi Final.


The Blues however will remain second on the log for the next week at least.


Full report to follow.


Full time score Stormers 33 Blues 20


Tries – Conrad Jantjes, Luke Watson, Jean de Villiers
Pen – Peter Grant (4)
Conv – Grant (3)


Tries – Isaia Toeava,Tony Woodcock
Pen – Holwell (2)
Conv – David Holwell,Isa Nacewa




Blues: 15 George Pisi, 14 Anthony Tuitavake, 13 Isaia Toeava, 12 Sam Tuitupou, 11 Joe Rokocoko, 10 David Holwell, 9 David Gibson, 8 Nick Williams,7 Daniel Braid, 6 Jerome Kaino, 5 Troy Flavell (c), 4 Ali Williams, 3 John Afoa, 2 Keven Mealamu, 1 Tony Woodcock.
Replacements: 16 Derren Whitcombe, 17 Nick White, 18 Greg Rawlinson, 19 Justin Collins, 20 Steve Devine, 21 Isa Nacewa, 22 Rudi Wulff

Stormers: 15 Conrad Jantjes, 14 Breyton Paulse, 13 Jean De Villiers, 12 De Wet Barry, 11 Brent Russell, 10 Peter Grant, 9 JP Joubert, 8 Justin Melck, 7 Schalk Burger, 6 Luke Watson (c), 5 Ross Skeate, 4 Gerrie Britz, 3 Brok Harris, 2 Tiaan Liebenberg, 1 Schalk Ferreira
Replacements: 16 Schalk Brits, 17 JD Moller, 18 Francois Van Der Merwe, 19 Joe Van Niekerk, 20 Bolla Conradie, 21 Naas Olivier, 22 Corne Uys

Referee: Matt Goddard (Australia)
Touch judges: Bradley Wahl (Australia), Linston Manuels (South Africa)
Television match official: Sean Veldsman (South Africa)
Assessor: Tony Dunlop

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. more information

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.