Bath v Leicester Tigers LV Cup Semifinal preview

Leicester Tigers have named Craig Newby to captain their team in the Anglo Welsh LV= Cup semi-final against Bath at The Recreation Ground on Friday.

Back-rower Newby has returned to full fitness following a knee injury and has been involved in the first-team squad during the last month but makes his first start of the season on Friday.

Internationals Scott Hamilton and Horacio Agulla are included in the backline, while Alex Lewington and Andy Forsyth, who both scored tries in the vital cup win away to Harlequins in Round 3, are also given starting positions.

George Ford teams up with James Grindal at half-back.

Rob Hawkins lines up at hooker against his former club, and Tom Youngs returns after injury to take a place among the replacements alongside international front-rowers Marcos Ayerza and Logoviii Mulipola, and England Elite Player Squad member Thomas Waldrom.

Meanwhile Bath have named an unchanged side from that which secured a bonus
point victory over Worcester Warriors last weekend.

Tom Biggs, who scored a brace against the Warriors, starts on the wing with
Matt Banahan on the opposite side.

Olly Barkley and Matt Carraro partner up in the centres, with Sam Vesty named
at fullback.

Michael Claassens, who also crossed the whitewash twice against Worcester,
and Tom Heathcote start at scrum-half and fly-half respectively.

Lee Mears is once more given the number 2 shirt, with Charlie Beech and Duncan
Bell scrumming down either side of him.

Dave Attwood and Ryan Caldwell combine in the engine room, with Ben Skirving,
Francois Louw and Simon Taylor completing the pack in the back row.

There is only one change to the bench, with Anthony Perenise returning to the
matchday squad.

Match : Leicester Tigers v Bath Rugby
Venue : The Recreation Ground
Date : Friday 9th March 2012.
Kick off : 7.30pm


Bath Rugby

15. Sam Vesty ,
14. Matt Banahan ,
13. Matt Carraro ,
12. Olly Barkley ,
11. Tom Biggs ,
10. Tom Heathcote ,
9. Michael Claassens ,
1. Charlie Beech ,
2. Lee Mears ,
3. Duncan Bell ,
4. Dave Attwood ,
5. Ryan Caldwell ,
6. Ben Skirving ,
7. Francois Louw (c) ,
8. Simon Taylor

Replacements:16. Pieter Dixon , 17. David Flatman , 18. Anthony Perenise ,
19. Guy Mercer , 20. Carl Fearns , 21. Chris Cook , 22. Olly Woodburn , 23.
Jack Cuthbert

Leicester Tigers

15 Scott Hamilton , 14 Horacio Agulla , 13 Andy Forsyth , 12 Billy Twelvetreees , 11 Alex Lewington , 10 George Ford , 9 James Grindal , 1 Boris Stankovich , 2 Rob Hawkins , 3 Julian White , 4 Calum Green , 5 Graham Kitchener , 6 Steve Mafi , 7 Craig Newby (c) , 8 Ben Pienaar

Replacements , 16 Tom Youngs , 17 Marcos Ayerza , 18 Logoviii Mulipola , 19 Julian Salvi , 20 Thomas Waldrom , 21 Scott Steele , 22 Jeremy Staunton , 23 Matt Smith

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. more information

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.