Scotland change two for Wales in Six Nations

Scotland have made two changes to their starting line-up and a further three on the bench for Sunday’s Six Nations Championship match against Wales in Cardiff.

The alterations in the starting team following last weekend’s Calcutta Cup defeat see a first start for Edinburgh Rugby captain Greig Laidlaw in the number ten shirt, replacing Dan Parks, while his club mate Geoff Cross comes in at tight-head prop for the unavailable Euan Murray.

On the bench, three uncapped players have been called-up, all rewarded for recent form in the colours of both Glasgow Warriors and Scotland A – prop Ed Kalman, 20-year-old stand-off Duncan Weir and 19-year-old full-back Stuart Hogg. Weir and Hogg both scored fine individual tries in Scotland A’s 35-0 win against their English counterparts last week.

Scotland head coach Andy Robinson said: “Congratulations to Greig on his first start. He is a gifted footballer who is acclimatising very well to the differing demands of the stand-off position from having spent most of his career at scrum-half.

“Having lost last weekend, I believe the time is right to move on and look to develop our emerging talent at stand-off.

“I’ve always stressed the importance of the A team and the part that both Duncan Weir and Stuart Hogg played in the game at Netherdale last week is another reason for my continued excitement and belief in Scottish rugby.”

Laidlaw, 26, nephew of another of Jed-Forest’s favourite sons, the former Scotland and Lions scrum-half, Roy Laidlaw, has also graduated from the ranks of Scotland A and Scotland 7s.

In the pack, Geoff Cross, who made his debut against Wales three years ago, is promoted from the bench and given the opportunity to display the form that has been such a part of Edinburgh’s run to the quarter-finals of the Heineken Cup.

Scotland team

15 Rory Lamont ,14 Lee Jones , 13 Nick De Luca, 12 Sean Lamont, 11 Max Evans,10 Greig Laidlaw , 9 Chris Cusiter , 8 David Denton,7 Ross Rennie ,6 Alasdair Strokosch, 5 Jim Hamilton , 4 Richie Gray ,3 Geoff Cross,2 Ross Ford (C), 1 Allan Jacobsen

Replacements : 16 Scott Lawson , 17 Ed Kalman , 18 Alastair Kellock , 19 John Barclay , 20 Mike Blair , 21 Duncan Weir , 22 Stuart Hogg (Glasgow Warriors) uncapped

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. more information

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.