Newport Dragons ring the changes for LV Cup

Newport Gwent Dragons have rung the changes in their squad ahead of their Anglo Welsh LV= Cup Round 3 Match against the Ospreys at the Brewery Field on Friday 27th January at 7:05pm.

The Dragons squad are now able to call on a number of players who weren’t available over the last couple of weeks as they weren’t named in the Dragons original European Squad.

Having been stretched to the limit in the games against Perpignan and Prato the Dragons have taken the opportunity to utilise some fresher Principality Premiership players.

Jevon Groves and Steffan Jones are both named in the Dragons squad after playing starring roles for Cross Keys in their British and Irish Cup quarter final victory over Llanelli on Saturday, Jones amassing an individual 22 point haul. Also promoted from that successful Cross Keys team was try scoring lock Dan Hodge.

Pat Leach and Aaron Coundley are both fit again and named for the first time after recovering from long term injuries.

Dragons Defence Coach Rob Appleyard saw the game as an opportunity to bring a number of the younger Academy players like Sam Parry, Ieuan Jones, Jonathan Evans and Lewis Robling into the first team.

“We want to see some of the young boys step up to the mark. It’s an opportunity for us to test the depth of our squad for this season and for those to come, as a number of these players will be with us for the longer term.”

“Our last match in this tournament was Wasps away who came out with a very strong against us. For us to go there with a developing side and put in a performance like we did was great.

“Steffan stole the headlines with the last kick but it was a complete team effort. I have no doubt that both him and the rest of the team will be looking to do the same again at the Brewery Field on Friday.”

Newport Gwent Dragons Squad

Jamie Smith, Geraint O’Driscoll, Will Harries, Pat Leach, Luke Williams, Andy Tuilgai, Lewis Robling, Steffan Jones, Joe Bedford, Jonathan Evans, Ieuan Jones, Darren Waters, Hugo Ellis, Jevon Groves, Dan Hodge, Josh Tyler, Royce Cadman, Aaron Coundly, Phil Price, Dan Way, Keiron Jenkins, Rhys Buckley, Sam Parry, Steve Jones

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. more information

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.