Sale Sharks secure Bonus Point Agen victory

Sale Sharks secured another Amlin Challenge Cup Pool five victory when they beat Agen 41-21 at Edgeley Park on Sunday.

Sale Sharks kept themselves in the hunt for an Amlin Challenge Cup quarter-final
place with this impressive Pool 5 victory over French side Agen at Edgeley Park

The Premiership side’s bonus point victory puts them in second place behind
leaders Brive, who have won all four of their Pool games so far, and their home
clash with the French side in the last Pool fixture already has the look of
a group decider.

Both fly-halves, Valentin Courrent and Nick McLeod, swapped early penalties
to make it 6-all midway through the first half before the home side took advantage
of a yellow card shown to Agen lockl Damien Lagrange.

The Sharks made their one-man advantage count in emphatic fashion with two
quick tries by Tom Brady and skipper David Seymour to stretch their lead to
20-6 after half and hour of the first half.

Fly-half Courrent steadied the ship with his third penalty on the stroke of
half-time to make it 20-9 to the Sharks.

After the break, Brady crossed for his second try before scrum half, Cillian
Williams, scored the home side’s fourth try for the vital bonus point.

Agen’s replacement centre, Jamie Robinson, the former Welsh international,
and Tongan No 8 Opeti Fonua then scored a try each for the visitors to close
the gap but a late try by Scott Mathie proved enough for a Sale win.

Final Score Sale 41 (20) Agen 21 (9)


Sale Sharks
Tries: Brady 2, Seymour, Willis, Mathie
Penalties: MacLeod 2
Conversions: MacLeod 4, Miller

Tries: Robinson, Fonua
Penalties: Courrent 3
Conversions: Lamoulie

Referee: Dudley Phillips (Ireland)


Sale Sharks: R Miller; T Brady, A Higgins, J Leota, L Burrell; N MacLeod, C Willis; A Dickinson, T Taylor, H Thomas, F McKenzie, A Ostrikov, J Gaskell, D Seymour [capt], R Vernon

Replacements: M Jones, L Imiolek, V Cobilas, K Myall, A Powell, S Mathie, S Tuitupou, J Tuculet

Agen: S Tian; B Agulla, M Avramovic (capt), M Ahotaeiloa, S Dupuy; V Courrent, A Bales; S Telefoni, J Janaudy, M Scelzo, P O’Connor, D Lagrange, P Julien, J Mondoulet, A Erbani

Replacements: L Cabarry, G Muller, B Sheklashvili, D Senekal, O Fonua, M Machenaud, M Lamoulie, J Robinson

With thanks to ERCRugby.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. more information

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.