Toulon turn the tables on Newcastle Falcons

Steffon Armitage protects the ball for Toulon

Jonny Wilkinson helped Toulon to a 36-10 victory over his former team Newcastle Falcons in Pool 1 of the Amlin Challenge Cup on Saturday evening.

In the reverse fixture Toulon traveled to Newcastle but lost 6-3 at Kingston Park

Jonny Wilkinson contributed 11 points as Toulon cruised passed his former club
Newcastle Falcons to move a step closer to qualifying for the knockout stages.

The victory sees Toulon cement their place at the top of Pool Two with just
two rounds of Amlin Challenge Cup rugby to come.

The former England fly-half, who this week penned a new deal with Toulon, got
the scoreboard ticking for the hosts after just seven minutes.

Jeremy Manning hit back for the Falcons on 16 minutes before Geoffroy Messina
grabbed the game’s first try.

Christian Loamanu then pounced with two quick-fire tries with Wilkinson converting
both to bring the scores to 22-3 half-time lead.

Wales prop Eifion Lewis Roberts charged over for the French side’s fourth try
to wrap up the bonus-point within five minutes of the restart of play.

Electric wing David Smith raced over the whitewash for Toulon’s fifth but it
was Newcastle that had the last word Corne Uys grabbing a late consolation,
which Manning converted.

Final Score Toulon 36 (22) Newcastle Falcons 10 (3)


Try – Eifion Lewis-Roberts, Geoffroy Messina, David Smith, Christian Loamanu (2)
Conversion – Jonny Wilkinson (4)
Penalty – Jonny Wilkinson

Newcastle Falcons
Try – Corne Uys
Conversion – Jeremy Manning
Penalty – Jeremy Manning

Referee: Peter Allan (Scotland)


Toulon: B Lapeyre; C Loamanu, M Bastareaud, G Messina, A Palisson; J Wilkinson [capt], L Magnaval; E Lewis-Roberts, M Ivaldi, C Hayman, C Samson, K Chesney, L Senatore, P Gunther, S Armitage

Replacements: J Orioli, L Emmanuelli, D Kubriashvili, J Tawake, J Dumora, D Smith, F Cibray, D Schofield

Newcastle Falcons: G Goosen; L Eves, C Uys, J Helleur, J Fitzpatrick; J Manning, J Pasqualin; G Shiells, J Graham, E Murray, J Hudson [capt], A Van der Heijden, M Wilson, W Welch, M Mayhew

Replacements: R Vickers, A Wells, D Frazier, T Swinson, A Hogg, C Pilgrim, T Catterick, L Fielden

With thanks to ERCRugby.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. more information

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.