Northampton secure bonus point Newcastle win

Northampton Saints cruised to a 44-15 Aviva Premiership bonus point victory over Newcastle Falcons at Franklins Gardens on Saturday.

It was not the World Cup returnees who got the ball rolling for the Saints
as, having exchanged penalties early on, former Newcastle utility back Tom May
struck twice in quick succession to give Northampton a 15-3 lead.

Momentum then slowed for the East Midlands side as Courtney Lawes was sinbinned
midway through the first half and Jimmy Gopperth chipped away at their lead
with two more penalties and a drop-goal.

Ryan Lamb did reply with a penalty of his own right on the stroke of half-time
but the Falcons were still well in the game with the score 18-12.

Whatever Jim Mallinder said to his side during the interval had an instant impact
though as they came out firing and scored their third try after just three minutes
through Russian international Vasily Artemyev.

Ten minutes later the 24-year-old Russian crossed the line again to score his
sixth try in just three games for his new club and secure a bonus point for

Newcastle continued to battle away but mustered very little in attack as the
Saints took advantage of their very strong bench and made a host of changes
midway through the second half.

Chris Ashton remained on the field though and was in no mood to let the game
fizzle out as he ran in two late tries and ensured Northampton maintained their
high standards.

The 44-15 victory is just the Saints’ third of the season in the league but
they will be hoping for many more now their World Cup stars are back, whilst
Newcastle remain rooted to the bottom of the table with just a solitary win.

Final Score Northampton 44 (18) Newcastle 15 (12)


Northampton Saints
Tries: May 2, Artemyev 2, Ashton 2
Penalties: Lamb 2
Conversions: Lamb 3, Myler

Newcastle Falcons
Penalties: Gopperth 4
Drop-goals: Gopperth

Referee: JP Doyle (31st Premiership game)


Northampton Saints

15 Ben Foden, 14 Chris Ashton, 13 Jon Clarke, 12 Tom May, 11 Vasily Artemyev, 10 Ryan Lamb, 9 Lee Dickson, 8 Phil Dowson, 7 Tom Wood, 6 Calum Clark, 5 Courtney Lawes, 4 Samu Manoa 3 Brian Mujati, 2 Dylan Hartley (c), 1 Soane Tonga’uiha.

Replacements: 16 Mike Haywood, 17 Alex Waller, 18 Paul Doran Jones, 19 Mark Sorenson, 20 Roger Wilson, 21 Martin Roberts, 22 Stephen Myler, 23 Scott Armstrong.

Newcastle Falcons

15 Jeremy Manning, 14 Luke Eves, 13 Corne Uys, 12 Jamie Helleur, 11 Rikki Sheriffe, 10 Jimmy Gopperth, 9 Chris Pilgrim, 8 Ally Hogg (c),7 Will Welch, 6 Mark Wilson, 5 Andrew van der Heijden, 4 Tim Swinson,3 Euan Murray, 2 Joe Graham, 1 Grant Shiells,

Replacements: 16 Michael Mayhew, 17 Ashley Wells, 18 Dan Frazier, 19 Glen Townson, 20 Redford Pennycook, 21 Jordi Pasqualin, 22 Alex Tait, 23 Greg Goosen

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. more information

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.