Terblanche in line to win 100th Currie Cup cap

Stefan Terblanche could become the first ever South African Rugby player to win 100 Currie Cup and 100 Super rugby Caps if he comes off the bench to face the Leopards.

Terblanche has been named on the bench with Gouws Prinsloo at fullback while the forwards are unchanged.

“Gouws Prinsloo starts for us at fullback this week, he’s a very big talent
for the future for us and I’d like to give him an opportunity,” said Plumtree
on the Sharks website.

“Other changes are Meyer Bosman and Adi Jacobs in the midfield and Freddie
Michalak starting at 10 with Conrad Hoffmann coming in at scrumhalf for Charl
McLeod who’s injured, and Ross Cronje will come off the bench.”

The forward pack remains unchanged from last week which is something of a rarity
given player losses this campaign.

“I’m pretty sure that this year I haven’t picked the same side
for consecutive matches, that’s been part of our problem, not too much
continuity. But we’re not worried about the past now, we’re looking
to the future and that starts on Saturday.

“It’s coming to crunch time for us, obviously we need to get some
points if we want to get into the play-offs. This is a huge match for us, there
are only 10 points available in the next two weeks and we need them.”

Plumtree explained that following a good week’s preparation, it’s now a matter
of putting that into practice for the Leopards game.

“The players have trained really well this week, it’s been probably one of
our better weeks this year. They’re excited about the opportunity and they’ve
trained like that. Now, the proof of the pudding will be in the performance.”

He warns though that the Leopards aren’t simply there for the taking.
They have two tough matches remaining before the conclusion of their season
and with The Sharks and Blue Bulls on their radar, they would like to end on
a high.

“The Leopards will want to knock off a bigger team in one of their last
two games. It’s going to be a pretty intense battle.”

The Sharks

15. Gouws Prinsloo , 14. Sibusiso Sithole , 13. Adrian Jacobs , 12. Meyer Bosman , 11. Lwazi Mvovo , 10. Frederic Michalak , 9. Conrad Hoffmann , 8. Keegan Daniel (C) , 7. Marcell Coetzee , 6. Jacques Botes , 5. Ross Skeate , 4. Jean Deysel , 3. Eugene van Staden , 2. Kyle Cooper , 1. Dale Chadwick

Replacements , 16. Monde Hadebe 17. Wiehahn Herbst 18. Anton Bresler 19. Jan Andre Marais 20. Ross Cronje 21. Marius Joubert , 22. Stefan Terblanche

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. more information

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.