Injury hit Province forced into changes

Injury-plagued Western Province have lost three more players ahead of their Currie Cup clash with the Free State Cheetahs in Cape Town on Saturday.

Province said in a statement they would be without Steven Kitshoff (knee), Nic Groom (knee) and Isma-eel Dollie (ankle)..

Lionel Cronje was handed a start at flyhalf in the team named on Thursday, and JD Moller joined the starting XV at loosehead prop.

Louis Schreuder was included on the bench as cover for Dewaldt Duvenage, while Heinrich Steyl was included among the replacements for the first time.

Western Province team:

Conrad Jantjes, Danie Poolman, Johann Sadie, Marcel Brache, JJ Engelbrecht, Lionel Cronje, Dewaldt Duvenage, Nick Koster, Tertius Daniller, Nick Fenton-Wells, De Kock Steenkamp, Hilton Lobberts, Brok Harris, Tiaan Liebenberg (captain), JD Moller.

Replacements: Deon Fourie, Frans Malherbe, Nizaam Carr, Siya Kolisi, Louis Schreuder, Berton Klaasen, Heinrich Steyl.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. more information

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.