Bulls make seven Currie Cup changes for Pumas

The Bulls have made seven changes for their Currie Cup match against the Pumas this weekend as they look to move off the bottom of Currie Cup table.

The most outstanding selection is that of former Lions scrum half Jano Vermaak who was only released from the Lions this week.

There are also returns for Wynand Olivier, Bjorn Basso and Deon Stegmann while Marnitz Boshoff will make his debut.

Olivier and Basson, who will play in his first Currie Cup match for the Blue
Bulls, recovered from niggles that prevented their participation in last weekend’s
match against the Lions and has been included in the side, along with Marnitz
Boshoff and Jurgen Visser.

Both were on the bench last weekend and Boshoff will earn a first start for
the province he captained at u.21-level last year.

In another move, coach Pine Pienaar moved Zane Kirchner to outside centre and
handed the number 15 jersey to Visser, who played in that position against Western
Province two weeks ago.

Jano Vermaak will also make his Blue Bulls debut since transferring from the
Golden Lions during the week.

“It is a new backline, but one that I am really excited about, ” Blue Bulls
coach Pine Pienaar said.

“We are happy to welcome Jano to our midst and I know he will make a
massive contribution in our long climb to the top four. Jurgen has an attacking
mindset and I would expect him to play accordingly and Marnitz deserve a chance
after being on the bench in the first four matches. “

Pienaar was also happy with Olivier and Basson’s return.

“They are international players and proven at this level. They will make
a massive difference, ” Pienaar said.

“The Pumas have shown that big names mean nothing to them and are a very
tough nut to crack. We will have to play our best rugby of the season for the
full 80 minutes if we want to achieve victory, ” he said.

Blue Bulls :

15. Jurgen Visser, 14. Akona Ndungane,13. Zane Kirchner, 12.Wynand Olivier, 11. Bjorn Basson, 10. Marnitz Boshoff,9. Jano Vermaak, 8. CJ Stander, 7. Dewald Potgieter (c), 6. Deon Stegmann, 5. Juandre Kruger, 4. Flip van der Merwe, 3. Werner Kruger, 2. Chiliboy Rallepelle, 1.Dean Greyling.

Resrves : Gary Botha, Rossouw de Klerk, Gerrit-Jan van Velze, Arno Botha, Dustin Jinka, Louis Fouche. Francois Venter.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. more information

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.