EP Kings retain Currie Cup backline for Griffons

The EP Kings have retained the backline which played in Friday’s comprehensive win over neighbours Border for Friday night’s Currie Cup first division clash with the Griffons at the Nelson Mandela Bay stadium.

The changes coach Alan Solomons has made are amongst the forwards as part of his rotational policy of keeping players fresh through the campaign.

Daron Nell drops out of the squad with Jacques Potgieter starting at blind side flank.

Lock Ross Kennedy returns for Wayne van Heerden who drops to the bench.

Jacques Englebrecht drops to the bench allowing captain Luke Watson to switch back to 8th man and Devin Oosthuizen to return from a week’s break as open side flanker.

Speaking at today’s team announcement, Solomons said he was very happy with his team’s play on attack in the 62-15 win over Border but that some attention needed to be paid to their defensive patterns ahead of the visit by the Griffons.

EP Kings team

SP Marais, Marcello Sampson, Siyanda Grey, Jaco Bekker, Norman Nelson, George Whitehead, Falie Oelschig (Vice-Captain), Luke Watson (Captain), Devin Oosthuizen, Ross Kennedy, Barend Pieterse, Jacques Potgieter, Clint Newland, Hannes Franklin,Jaco Engels

Reserves: Frank Herne, Ronnie Uys, Wayne van Heerden, Jacques Engelbrecht, Danie Faasen, Louis Strydom, Matthew Tayler-Smith

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. more information

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.