Southland beat Canterbury to win Ranfurly Shield

Southland won back the Ranfurly Shield when they beat Canterbury 22-19 in an ITM Cup clash on Saturday.

More to follow.

Final Score Southland 22 Canterbury 19


Tries- Osborne, Maitland
Pens- Taylor 3

Try- Cowan
Con- Wilson
Pens- Wilson 4
Drop- Wilson

Southland: 15 Robbie Robinson, 14 Glen Horton, 13 Kendrick Lynn, 12 Matt Saunders, 11 Tim Cornforth, 10 James Wilson, 9 Scott Cowan, 8 Elliot Dixon, 7 Tim Boys, 6 John Hardie, 5 Joe Tuineau, 4 Josh Bekhuis, 3 Chris King, 2 Jason Rutledge, 1 Jamie Mackintosh (c).

Replacements: 16 David Hall, 17 Nick Barrett, 18 Ben Nally, 19 Kaleni Taituli, 20 Sonny Rangitohereri, 21 Scott Eade, 22 James Lew or Tony Koonwaiyou, 23 Michael Peterson.

Canterbury:1. Paea Fa’anunu 2. Paul Ngauamo 3. Andrew Olorenshaw 4. Ash Parker 5. Luke Romano 6. George Whitelock (c) 7. Matt Todd 8. Nasi Manu 9. Willi Heinz 10. Tom Taylor 11. Patrick Osborne 12. Ryan Crotty 13. Robbie Fruean 14. Telusa Veainu 15. Sean Maitland

Reserves:16. Ben Funnell 17. Nepo Laulala 18. Reuben Thorne 19. Brendon O’Connor 20. Mark Swanepoel 21. Takerei Norton 22. Johnny McNicholl 23. Sam Cottam

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. more information

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.