Brumbies Fisher names unchanged XV

Brumbies coach Laurie Fisher has named an unchanged starting line-up for his side’s Super 14 Week 10 match against the Waratahs at Canberra Stadium on Easter Sunday.

With his starting XV pulling through their last round win over the Lions unscathed, Fisher’s identical run-on side includes the retention of Adam Ashley-Cooper at outside centre, while Julian Huxley will remain in the number 15 jumper.

Huxley, who prior to this round had covered three positions in as many weeks, says he’s pleased to retain his position at fullback.

“I’ve said all along that I’m not too worried about which number’s on my back as long as I can contribute to the success of the team,” he said.

“In saying that, it is nice to be able to stay in the one position for at least two weeks to develop a bit more continuity.”

Meanwhile, Fisher has continued to rotate his reserves list with prop Salesi Ma’afu, lock/back row Peter Kimlin and outside back Matt Carraro the new additions to the Brumbies’ bench for Sunday.

Fisher says his side is determined to beat the New South Welshmen for the first time since 2003 and continue their charge towards the top four.

“We haven’t had the best record against the Waratahs over the past few years so this is a very important match for us in the context of the season,” he said.

“Given where we’re situated on the table it’s an important game for us to win. We’ve gathered a little bit of momentum against the Sharks and Lions and we’ll be looking to build on that this weekend.”

Fisher says he expects the match to be an entertaining one.

“I don’t think it will be a kick-a-thon like it was a couple of years ago,” he said.

“We’ll certainly be trying to use the ball and the Waratahs are also getting some pay out of using the ball and through their counter attack. But I think both sides are willing to attack to win the game.”

Brumbies: 15 Julian Huxley, 14 Clyde Rathbone, 13 Adam Ashley-Cooper, 12 Gene Fairbanks, 11 Mark Gerrard, 10 Stephen Larkham, 9 George Gregan, 8 Stephen Hoiles, 7 George Smith (c), 6 Jone Tawake, 5 Mark Chisholm, 4 Adam Wallace-Harrison, 3 Guy Shepherdson, 2 Jeremy Paul, 1 Nic Henderson.
Replacements: 16 Saia Faingaa, 17 Salesi Ma’afu, 18 Peter Kimlin, 19 Julian Salvi, 20 Patrick Phibbs, 21 Matthew Carraro, 22 Francis Fainifo

Date: Sunday, 8 April
Venue: Canberra Stadium
Kick-off: 19.40 (09.40 GMT)
Referee: Matt Goddard (Australia)
Touch judges: Brett Bowden (Australia), George Ayoub (Australia)
Television match official: Geoff Acton (Australia)
Assessor: Ian Scotney (Australia)


365 Digital

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. more information

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.