Newcastle Falcons book LV=Cup final spot

Newcastle Falcons snatched a place in the Anglo Welsh LV= Cup final when they beat Harlequins 20-21 in the first Semi-final at The Stoop.  

Harlequins looked to have won the match 20-16 but in the 79th minute Newcastle mounted a late challenge and as the clock ticked over the 80 minute mark Tane Tu’ipulotu scored a match winning try to book a place in the final against the winner of Sunday’s Gloucester vs Newport clash.

Man of the match Jimmy Gopperth missed the final conversion but it didn’t matter because the referee had signalled that the match would be over once he had kicked the ball.

While Tu’ipulotu will be regarded as the hero in tomorrow’s headlines, it was a man-of-the-match performance from fly-half Jimmy Gopperth which made the victory possible.

The Newcastle pivot ended the match with sixteen points after another near-flawless display with the boot, while he also dotted down for a try.

Quins, leading 13-6 at half-time, dominated territory and possession for almost the entire game and looked to have done enough when Mike Brown’s 70th minute try put them ahead.

However, Newcastle refused to surrender and reached the final of this competition for a seventh time thanks to Tu’ipulotu’s try at the death.

Final Score Harlequins 20 (13) Newcastle Falcons 21(6)


Tries: Dickson, Brown
Penalties: Clegg 2
Conversions: Clegg 2

Newcastle Falcons
Tries: Gopperth, Tu’ipulotu 
Penalties: Gopperth 3
Conversions: Gopperth


Harlequins : 15. Mike Brown , 14. Tom Williams , 13. George Lowe , 12. Jordan Turner Hall , 11. Ugo Monye , 10. Rory Clegg , 9. Karl Dickson, 8. Chris Robshaw,7. Will Skinner ,6. Maurie Fa’asavalu , 5. Pete Browne , 4. Ollie Kohn ,3. John Andress ,2. Matt Cairns , 1. Joe Marler ,

16. Joe Gray , 17. Ceri Jones , 18. Mark Lambert , 19. Tomas Vallejos , 20. Chris York , 21. Dave Moore , 22. Benjamin Urdapilleta , 23. Gonzalo Camacho

Newcastle Falcons:15 Alex Tait , 14 Danny Williams , 13 Luke Eves , 12 James Fitzpatrick , 11 Gcobani Bobo , 10 Jimmy Gopperth , 9 Micky Young, 8 Ally Hogg, 7 Brent Wilson , 6 Tim Swinson , 5 Andrew Van der Heijden , 4 James Hudson, 3 Euan Murray , 2 Matt Thompson ,1 Jon Golding

Replacements:16 Rob Vickers , 17 Grant Shiells , 18 Kieran Brookes , 19 Filipo Levi , 20 Mark Wilson , 21 Hall Charlton , 22 Tane Tu’ipulotu , 23 Tom Catterick


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. more information

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.