Saracens end Leicester’s run at Welford Rd

Alex Goode kicked a late penalty as second-placed Saracens beat Premiership leaders Leicester Tigers 14-15 in the Aviva Premiership on Saturday.

Goode kicked five penalties as Sarries ended Tigers’ nine-match Aviva Premiership winning streak.

The Tigers, who edged out Sarries in last season’s memorable play-off final at Twickenham, could have snatched victory but rookie centre Billy Twelvetrees missed a late penalty.

The visitors led when Goode kicked a penalty after just minutes, yet the Tigers steadied themselves and gradually moved through the gears.

A penalty from Staunton got them off the mark and although another three-pointer from Goode restored Saracens’ lead, Staunton booted Leicester level with his second penalty.

Leicester produced a fine try in the 29th minute when England Saxons youngster Tuilagi evaded David Strettle and Owen Farrell to go over. Staunton converted another penalty but Goode quickly cancelled that effort out with a third penalty of his own.

Sarries sought a response as they hammered away in the Tigers 22, they battered away through countless phases but the Tigers held firm.

A powerful Sarries scrum then saw the Leicester front row concede a penalty which Goode slotted with 15 minutes to play to close the gap to just two points.

Staunton missed a penalty after Adam Powell was adjudged to have held Alesana Tuilagi back.

And the miss proved costly as Goode slotted the winning kick with five minutes remaining as Leicester flopped off their feet at a ruck. There was one last chance for Leicester, but Twelvetrees was off target with the boot.

Final Score Leicester (14) 14 Saracens (9) 15


Tries: M. Tuilagi
Pens: Staunton 3

Pens: Goode 5

Referee: Sean Davey (97th Premiership game)


Leicester Tigers: 15 Scott Hamilton , 14 Horacio Agulla , 13 Manu Tuilagi , 12 Anthony Allen , 11 Alesana Tuilagi , 10 Jeremy Staunton , 9 James Grindal , 1 Marcos Ayerza , 2 George Chuter , 3 Julian White , 4 Steve Mafi , 5 George Skivington , 6 Tom Croft , 7 Craig Newby (c) , 8 Thomas Waldrom

Replacements , 16 Rob Hawkins , 17 Boris Stankovich , 18 Martin Castrogiovanni , 19 Calum Green , 20 Ben Woods , 21 Sam Harrison , 22 Dan Hipkiss , 23 Billy Twelvetrees

Saracens :15 Alex Goode , 14 David Strettle , 13 Rodd Penney , 12 Brad Barritt , 11 Chris Wyles , 10 Owen Farrell , 9 Richard Wigglesworth , 1 Rhys Gill , 2 Schalk Brits , 3 Carlos Nieto , 4 Steve Borthwick (c) , 5 Mouritz Botha , 6 Justin Melck , 7 Andy Saull , 8 Ernst Joubert

16 Jamie George , 17 Jared Saunders , 18 Matt Stevens , 19 Hugh Vyvyan , 20 Kelly Brown , 21 Neil de Kock , 22 Adam Powell , 23 James Short


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. more information

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.