Saracens whitewash Leeds at Vicarage Road

Saracens whitewashed Leeds Carnegie 39-0 at Vicarage Road in the Aviva Premiership on Sunday.

Leeds’ Premiership survival hopes were dealt another savage blow as Saracens coasted to a comfortable bonus-point victory in the Aviva Premiership at Vicarage Road.

The visitors arrived in Watford reeling from the shock axing of director of rugby Andy Key earlier this week.

And they never recovered from a woeful start which saw Sarries cross the line inside the second minute through Michael Tagicakibau, who pounced on a poor defensive kick to crash over for the first of his side’s five tries.

Alex Goode, who kicked 14 points, added the conversion and in the eighth minute last season’s beaten Premiership finalists claimed their second touchdown when some slick handling allowed Brad Barritt to go over.

Goode again added the extras and the game was already up for Leeds.

Saracens, in buoyant mood having won at Northampton the previous week, edged further ahead thanks to two penalties from Goode.

And it came as no surprise when they breached Leeds’ line again on the stroke of half-time when James Short touched down for a try which Goode again converted.

At 27-0 down at half-time, the game was effectively beyond Leeds but Saracens refused to ease up as scrum-half Richard Wigglesworth touched down for his fourth try in the 46th minute to secure a bonus point.

Leeds began to steady to ship but the game was already well beyond them and Saracens rubbed salt in their wounds with a fifth try.

In the 72nd minute, Chris Wyles waltzed through some shambolic attempted tackles to scamper clear for a try which Goode converted.

Final Score Saracens 39 (27) Leeds Carnegie 0 (0)


Tries: Tagicakibau, Barritt, Short, Wigglesworth, Wyles
Penalties: Goode 2
Conversions: Goode 4

Leed Carnegie

Attendance : 6029

Man of the match : Hayden Smith

Referee: Greg Garner (13th Premiership game)


Saracens :15 Alex Goode , 14 James Short , 13 Michael Tagicakibau , 12 Brad Barritt , 11 Chris Wyles , 10 Owen Farrell , 9 Richard Wigglesworth , 1 Rhys Gill , 2 Jamie George , 3 Carlos Nieto , 4 Steve Borthwick (c) , 5 Hayden Smith , 6 Justin Melck , 7 Andy Saull , 8 Ernst Joubert

Replacements : 16 Schalk Brits , 17 Jared Saunders , 18 Matt Stevens , 19 Hugh Vyvyan , 20 Jackson Wray , 21 Neil de Kock , 22 Rodd Penney , 23 Noah Cato

Leeds Carnegie: 15. Leigh Hinton , 14. Lee Blackett , 13. Henry Faafili , 12. Scott Barrow , 11. Michael Stephenson , 10. Adrian Jarvis , 9. Warren Fury , 1. Mike MacDonald , 2. Steve Thompson , 3. Phil Swainston , 4. Daniel Browne , 5. Marco Wentzel (C) , 6. Kearnan Myall , 7. Hendre Fourie , 8. Alfie Tooala

Replacements : 16. Phil Nilsen , 17. Gareth Hardy , 18. Juan Gomez , 19. James Craig , 20. Jacob Rowan , 21. Scott Mathie , 22. Ceiron Thomas , 23. Luther Burrell


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. more information

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.