Steenson boots Exeter to Falcons victory

Exeter Chiefs upset Newcastle Falcons with a 13-23 victory at Kingston Park in the Aviva Premiership.

Exeter followed up last week’s Premiership home victory over Harlequins with an away victory in the North East.

Newcastle were plunged deeper into relegation trouble as a late surge saw Exeter claim victory at Kingston Park.

There was little to choose between the sides in the first half and it was 6-6 at the break as Jimmy Gopperth and Gareth Steenson kicked two penalties apiece.

Another Steenson penalty edged the visitors ahead after the break and, although the hosts hit back with the opening try through James Hudson, a Matt Jess try and three more penalties from Steenson sealed victory for the Chiefs.

Gopperth should have given Newcastle the lead early in the second half but missed a very kickable penalty – his fourth miss – in the 43rd minute after Exeter were offside.

Steenson’s 55th-minute penalty edged Exeter back in front at 9-6 but Newcastle suddenly found some fire and the home pack showed real patience with a series of drives to set up the try for skipper Hudson which Gopperth converted in the 61st minute.

Exeter responded almost immediately, though. Tom Johnson charged down Young’s attempted clearance and Jess shot over for a try.

Steenson could not convert but he did kick a penalty seconds later to put Exeter back in the driving seat at 17-13.

Jeremy Manning, on for Gopperth, then missed a very kickable penalty with 10 minutes left and Steenson made sure of the win with his fifth successful penalty five minutes from time and turned the screw with a last-minute penalty to deny Newcastle a bonus point.

Final Score Newcastle 13 (6) Exeter 23 (6)


Newcastle Falcons
Tries: Hudson
Penalties: Gopperth 2
Conversions: Gopperth

Exeter Chiefs
Tries: Jess
Penalties:Steenson 6

Referee: Sean Davey (95th Premiership game)


Newcastle:15 Alex Tait , 14 Luke Fielden , 13 Luke Eves , 12 Tane Tu’ipulotu , 11 Gcobani Bobo , 10 Jimmy Gopperth , 9 Micky Young , 1 Jon Golding , 2 Matt Thompson , 3 Euan Murray , 4 James Hudson , 5 Andrew Van der Heijden , 6 Tim Swinson , 7 Will Welch , 8 Ally Hogg

Replacements:16 Rob Vickers , 17 Kieran Brookes , 18 Grant Shiells , 19 Glen Townson , 20 Mark Wilson , 21 Hall Charlton , 22 James Fitzpatrick , 23 Jeremy Manning ,

Exeter Chiefs : 15 Luke Arscott , 14 Matt Jess , 13 Jason Shoemark , 12 Sireli Naqelevuki , 11 Nic Sestaret , 10 Gareth Steenson , 9 Haydn Thomas , 1 Brett Sturgess , 2 Neil Clark , 3 Chris Budgen , 4 Tom Hayes (capt) , 5 James Hanks , 6 Tom Johnson , 7 James Scaysbrook , 8 Richard Baxter

16 Chris Whitehead , 17 Ben Moon , 18 Ignacio Elosu , 19 Chad Slade , 20 James Phillips , 21 Junior Poluleuligaga , 22 Ryan Davis , 23 Phil Dollman


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. more information

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.