Exeter Chiefs end Harlequins unbeaten run

Exeter Chiefs flyhalf Gareth Steenson kicked five penalties for a 20-6 Premiership victory which ended Harlequins’ run of nine successive wins in all competitions.

Tom Johnson struck immediately after the restart and fly-half Gareth Steenson
weighed in with 15 points to put a dent in Quins’ play-off hopes.

It was a sixth win of the season for Exeter, who have acclimatised in style
to the demands of the top flight following their promotion last season.

Two penalties from Steenson put the Chiefs 6-0 ahead after 18 minutes but the
visitors steadied themselves and hit back through a penalty from fly-half Nick
Evans in the 21st minute.

However, the momentum remained with the hosts and two more penalties from Steenson
put them 12-3 ahead at the break.

Moments after the restart, Johnson crossed the line following a move which
summed up the confidence of Exeter’s play.

The ball passed through several pairs of hands and culminated in centre Jason
Shoemark giving the final pass to Johnson, who had to shrug off a tackle to
score in the corner.

Steenson’s conversion from the left touchline was wide of the mark.

A penalty from Evans gave Quins hope but Steenson booted his fifth-three pointer
of the afternoon to secure Exeter a relatively comfortable win.

The hosts were forced to defend solidly but were prepared to mount another
attack from deep in their own half in search of a second try to cap another
memorable victory for the west country side.

Final Score Exeter (12) 20 Harlequins (3) 6


Tries: Johnson
Pens: Steenson 5

Pens: Evans 2


Exeter Chiefs : 15 Luke Arscott , 14 Matt Jess , 13 Jason Shoemark , 12 Sireli Naqelevuki , 11 Nic Sestaret , 10 Gareth Steenson , 9 Haydn Thomas ,8 Richard Baxter, 7 James Scaysbrook , 6 Tom Johnson , 5 James Hanks , 4 Tom Hayes (capt) , 3 Chris Budgen , 2 Neil Clark , 1 Brett Sturgess ,

Replacements : 16 Chris Whitehead , 17 Ben Moon , 18 Hoani Tui , 19 Chad Slade , 20 James Phillips , 21 Junior Poluleuligaga , 22 Ryan Davis , 23 Phil Dollman

Harlequins :15 M Brown , 14 G Camacho , 13 G Lowe , 12 J Turner-Hall , 11 U Monye , 10 N Evans , 9 K Dickson , 8 C Robshaw , 7 W Skinner , 6 M Fa ‘asavalu , 5 G Robson , 4 O Kohn , 3 J Johnston , 2 J Gray , 1 J Marler

Replacements : 16 C Brooker , 17 C Jones , 18 M Lambert , 19 T Vallejos , 20 M Browne , 21 D Moore , 22 R Clegg , 23 T Williams


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. more information

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.