Fitzgerald & Best back for Ireland’s Six Nations

Ireland Coach Declan Kidney has announced a 32 man squad for the forthcoming Six Nations Championship which begins for Ireland when they take on Italy in Stadio Flaminio in just over two weeks time. One player named for the first time in the senior squad is the uncapped Connacht forward Mike McCarthy.

Luke Fitzgerald and Rory Best also return after suffering injuries during the Guinness series in November.

Ireland Coach Declan Kidney said, “As always the selection of the squad is never an easy one but certainly the level of competition in each position is probably as great as it has ever been over the last two years. Players have been really pushing their performances for their provinces, so that level of competition can only be good.

“That translates into more competition for each place in the squad and then for the first selection against Italy, which can only be a good thing coming into the championship.”

Speaking overall about the tournament, Kidney said, “The Six Nations Championship remains one of the best tournaments in world rugby. We will be treating it as a separate entity from what happens over the rest of the year and focus on building on the positives from November for the championship.

“As we know from last year and every other time we have faced Italy, they represent a greater threat every year.

“The addition of their teams in the Magners League is building their experience and I think that will have an even greater influence on their national side for the championship. The key for us is to work hard in setting the foundations for the tournament in our first week in camp and our only focus will be on that opening game against Italy”.

Ireland Squad, Six Nations Championship

Tommy Bowe (Ospreys)
Gordon D’Arcy (Landowne – Leinster)
Gavin Duffy (Galwegians – Connacht)
Keith Earls (Thomond – Munster)
Luke Fitzgerald (Blackrock – Leinster)
Shane Horgan (Boyne – Leinster)
Ronan O’ Gara (Cork Constitution – Munster)
Brian O’Driscoll (UCD – Leinster)
Eoin Reddan (Landowne – Leinster)
Jonathan Sexton (St. Mary’s College – Leinster)
Peter Stringer (Shannon – Munster)
Andrew Trimble (Ballymena – Ulster)
Paddy Wallace (Ballymena – Ulster)

Rory Best (Banbridge – Ulster)
Tom Court (Malone – Ulster)
Sean Cronin (Buccaneers – Connacht)
Leo Cullen (Blackrock – Leinster)
Stephen Ferris (Dungannon – Ulster)
Jerry Flannery (Shannon – Munster)
John Hayes (Bruff – Munster)
Cian Healy (Clontarf – Leinster)
Jamie Heaslip (Naas – Leinster)
Shane Jennings (St. Mary’s College – Leinster)
Denis Leamy (Cork Constitution – Munster)
Mike McCarthy (Buccaneers – Connacht)
Donncha O’Callaghan (Cork Constitution – Munster)
Paul O’Connell (Young Munster – Munster)
Sean O’Brien (Clontarf – Leinster)
Mick O’Driscoll (Cork Constitution – Munster)
Michael Ross (Clontarf – Leinster)
Rhys Ruddock (St. Mary’s College – Leinster)
David Wallace (Garryowen – Munster)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. more information

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.