Preview – Sale Sharks v Leicester

Sale Sharks have announced their team for Saturday’s EDF Energy Cup Semi Final against Leicester Tigers at the Millennium Stadium. The only doubt is over Mark Cueto has a slight calf strain but he is expected to play.

“We have trained well all week and it was good to see the return of the International players after the Six Nations,” said Head Coach Kingsley Jones.

“We are expecting a tough game but we believe we have selected a side that can win tomorrow and give us an opportunity to secure a Heineken Cup place for next season.”

Meanwhile, Tigers head coach Pat Howard has recalled five of his England internationals to the Leicester Tigers side game.

Martin Corry will captain the team, and Howard can also include George Chuter, Louis Deacon and Harry Ellis, as well as flanker Lewis Moody who has recovered from a shoulder injury.

“Julian White has been carrying a bit of an injury, but we are happy to welcome the guys back, not just the England players but also Geordan Murphy who has been away too,” said Howard.

Chuter returns alongside Michael Holford and Marcos Ayerza in the front row, with Ben Kay joined by Deacon at lock. Shane Jennings lines up alongside Moody and Corry in the back row.

“The medical staff have done a fantastic job in getting him (Lewis Moody) ready. He looks in great nick too and we are happy to have him in contention and happy to have the back row together again that played such a major part in Europe.”

The fly-half spot goes to Paul Burke who started the EDF Energy Cup victories over Newport-Gwent Dragons and Worcester in the group stages of the competition.

“We have all three fly-halves available and the competition is very tight at the moment,” Howard said. “Burkey was the 10 who got us into this position and he has played a major part in this competition for us this season. I am looking forward to seeing him continue that form.”

Leicester Tigers: 15 Geordan Murphy, 14 Tom Varndell, 13 Danny Hipkiss, 12 Daryl Gibson, 11 Alesana Tuilagi, 10 Paul Burke, 9 Harry Ellis, 8 Martin Corry (c), 7 Lewis Moody, 6 Shane Jennings, 5 Ben Kay, 4 Louis Deacon, 3 Michael Holford, 2 George Chuter, 1 Marcos Ayerza,
Replacements: 16 Gavin Hickie, 17 Alex Moreno, 18 Tom Croft, 19 Brett Deacon, 20 Frank Murphy, 21 Andy Goode, 22 Seru Rabeni.

Sale Sharks: 15 Julien Laharrague, 14 Mark Cueto/Oriol Ripol, 13 Elvis Seveali’I, 12 Chris Bell, 11 Jason Robinson (Captain), 10 Daniel Larrechea, 9 Richard Wigglesworth, 8 Sebastien Chabal, 7 Magnus Lund, 6 Juan Manuel Fernandez Lobbe, 5 Dean Schofield, 4 Chris Jones, 3 Stuart Turner, 2 Sebastien Bruno, 1 Andrew Sheridan.
Replacements: 16 Andy Titterrell, 17 Eifion Roberts, 18 Ben Evans, 19 Ignacio Fernandez Lobbe, 20 Ben Foden, 21 Chris Mayor/Oriol Ripol, 22 Lee Thomas/Rhys Jones.

Date: Saturday, March 24
Venue: Millennium Stadium, Cardiff
Kick-off: 14:30 GMT
Referee: Nigel Owens (Wales)
Touch judges: Nigel Whitehouse (Wales), Gareth Simmonds (Wales)
Television match official: Clayton Thomas (Wales)
Assessor: Paul Bridgman (England)


365 Digital

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. more information

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.