Biarritz sting Aironi in Heineken Cup

Biarritz hit back at Aironi for their surprise 28-27 loss last week with a 34-30 Heineken Cup victory this at Parc des Sports Aguilera on Friday evening.

Last season’s Heineken Cup finalists raced into a 20-0 half time lead and never looked back putting their first defeat of this campaign truly behind them.

The visitors made a number of changes from the squad their got their first ever competitive victory six days ago and found it tough going against an experienced French outfit.

Dimitri Yachvili once again starred and he opened the scoring with a penalty after two minutes before converting Marcelo Bosch’s try.

The home side dominated the opening forty minutes and were awarded a penalty try midway through the half which Yachvili also converted, adding to penalty moments before.

Aironi’s Riccardo Bocchino had a chance to get his side on the score sheet just before the break but the Italian fly-half was off target with his first kick of the evening.

Takudzwa Ngwenga carried on from where Biarritz had left off in the first half touching down six minutes into the second period. Once again pinpoint accuracy from French International half-back Yachvili brought another two points.

Biarritz wrapped up the bonus point as the 60-minute mark approached as Benoit August crossed for his first try in Europe this season.

Aironi finally got points on the board with a Bocchino penalty but it was all about Biarritz this evening at the Parc des Sports Aguilera.

Final Score Biarritz 34 (20) Aironi Rugby 3(0)


Tries: Bosch, Penalty, Ngwenya, August
Penalties: Yachvili 2
Conversions: Yachvili 4

Penalties: Bocchino

Referee: Andrew Small (England)


Biarritz Olympique Pays Basque: D Haylett-Petty, T Ngwenya, M Bosch, D Traille, I Balshaw, J Peyrelongue, D Yachvili, Y Watremez, B August, C Johnstone, J Thion, E Lund, M Lund, S Vahafolau, I Harinordoquy [capt].

Replacements: R Terrain, E Guinazu, S Marconnet, P Taele, W Lauret, I Bolakoro, L Tranier, A Mignardi

Aironi Rugby: J Laharrague, G Toniolatti , M Pratichetti, G Pizarro, G Rubini, R Bocchino, P Canavosio, S Perugini, L Ferraro, F Staibano, M Bortolami, Q Geldenhuys [capt], V Liebenberg, S Favaro, J Erasmus.

Replacements: R Santamaria, L Gamboa, M Aguero, J Sole, G Krause, M Wilson, J Marshall, G Venditti


With thanks to ERCRugby

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. more information

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.