Leeds Carnegie v Sale Sharks LV=Cup Preview

Sale Sharks have named their squad to play Leeds Carnegie at Headingley in the Anglo Welsh LV= Cup on Sunday with 19 year old Iain Thornley making his first start and there’s a debut for Cumbrian winger Will Addison, aged 18.

The Sharks will again be under coaches Byron Hayward and Pete Anglesea. Earlier this week, Pete said, “What the young players showed against London Irish is that they are a lot more mature both physically and mentally than most of their counterparts. They seemed to instantly adapt to senior rugby and it’s a credit to those lads.

“They are mentally tough and mentally mature. They are not fazed and I don’t want to knock that young players’ mentality out of them as I want them to play without fear.

“If your gut instinct tells you it’s the right thing, then I always think that’s the way you should play. The moment you remove that they lose something.”

Penrith-born winger Will Addison returned from injury to score two tries from full back in a friendly against Oxford University last Monday.

“He really stepped up to the mark and looked like a Chris Ashton type player and at the moment he’s really special,” Anglesea added.

Meanwhile Leeds Carnegie have made a host of changes and just James Tincknell, Christian Lewis-Pratt, Warren Fury, Phil Nilsen and James Craig remain from the side who lost at Llanelli last week.

James Parkes, who is a member of the club’s conditioning staff, has been drafted in to the squad following the injury to Andy Titterrell to cover at hooker. The former Gloucester hooker retired two years ago but has played in the club’s A team in recent years.

Match : Leeds Carnegie v Sale Sharks –
Date : Sunday 14th November 2010
Venue : Leeds Headingly
Kick Off : 15:00


Leeds Carnegie : 15. Michael Stephenson , 14. Lee Blackett , 13. James Tincknell , 12. Scott Barrow , 11. Peter Wackett , 10. Christian Lewis-Pratt , 9. Warren Fury , 8. Daniel Browne , 7. Jacob Rowan , 6. Rhys Oakley , 5. Marco Wentzel (c), 4. James Craig, 3. Juan Gomez , 2. Phil Nilsen , 1. Gareth Denman

Replacements : 16. James Parkes , 17. Miguel Alonso , 18. Phil Swainston , 19. Tom Denton , 20. Danny Paul , 21. Scott Mathie , 22. Ceiron Thomas , 23. Leigh Hinton

Sale Sharks: 15 Nick Macleod, 14 Rhys Crane, 13 Fergus Mulchrone, 12 Iain Thornley, 11 Will Addison, 10 Matty James, 9 Dwayne Peel, 1 Lee Imiolek, 2 Ben Roberts, 3 Henry Thomas, 4 Chris Jones, 5 Sean Cox (Captain), 6 Chris Brightwell, 7 Neil McMillan, 8 Asaeli Boko.

Replacements 16 Neil Briggs, 17 Aston Croall, 18 Simon McIntyre, 19 Nic Rouse, 20 Dan Hall, 21 Will Cliff, 22 Chris Leck, 23 Anitelea Tuilagi.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. more information

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.