W.Province unchanged for Currie Cup final

Western Province opted for the tried and tested when they named their side to play against the Sharks in Saturday’s Currie Cup final in Durban.

Province coach Allister Coetzee has decided that the same match-day squad which ran the Free State Cheetahs ragged in their 31-7 semifinal a fortnight ago, will also launch Cape Town’s final bid for rugby glory in the 2010 season.

“The unchanged squad makes for continuity in the ranks, and it’s a matter of building on the team’s momentum,” said Coetzee.

“It’s great that we are able to select an unchanged side and it will do the players’ confidence a world of good.”

Province skipper Schalk Burger said there was great excitement in the squad, more so because it is the second final this season for many of the players, who also played in the Super 14 in May.

“We’ve just about wrapped up the training for the final and we’ve paid great attention to detail,” said Burger.

“The tough battle will start upfront, and since both teams will be up for it, one expects a really physical battle.”



Conrad Jantjes, Gio Aplon, Jean de Villiers, Juan de Jongh, Bryan Habana, Willem de Waal, Ricky Januarie, Duane Vermeulen, Francois Louw, Schalk Burger (captain), Anton van Zyl, Adriaan Fondse, Brok Harris, Deon Fourie, JD Moller.

Replacements: Hanyani Shimange, JC Kritzinger, De Kock Steenkamp, Pieter Louw, Dewaldt Duvenage, Lionel Cronje, Paul Bosch.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. more information

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.