Exeter Chiefs beat Bourgoin in Challenge Cup

Exeter Chiefs beat Bourgoin by 19 points to 34 in their Pool Three Amlin Challenge Cup clash played at Stade Pierre Rajon in France on Friday night.

Exeter Chiefs banished the memories of their debut European defeat from last weekend with tries from Bryan Rennie and Hayden Thomas which gave the Chiefs a surprise 26-5 half-time lead at Stade Pierre Rajon before Mark Foster completed the historic win which keeps alive their hopes of progressing in the competition.

Irish fly-half Gareth Steenson who missed last week’s defeat to Montpellier, kicked 19 points which proved to be the difference between the two sides.

Steenson slotted to early penalties to give the visitors the lead before Bourgoin No8 Yan Labrit rumbled over on nine minutes but Steenson hit back almost immediately with a third kick.

Centre Rennie crossed on 23 minutes to open breathing space before a moment of opportunism from Thomas saw Exeter take a grip on the game.

The scrum-half pounced when the ball squirted out of a Bourgoin scrum and galloped over from 30 metres out. Steenson converted and added a penalty before half-time.

Brando Va’aula spearheaded the anticipated backlash from the home side but wing Foster skipped over to safeguard’s Exeter’s lead.

Fit-again Richard Baxter marred his first start of the season following injury with a yellow card just moments after Ratu Nasiganiyavi was sent to the sin bin.


The Fijian returned to score in the final minute but that was too late to deny Exeter.

Final Score Bourgoin 19 (5) Exeter Chiefs 34 (26)


Tries: Bougharara, Va’aulu, Nadolo
Conversions: Viazzo 2

Exeter Chiefs
Tries: Rennie, Thomas, Foster
Penalties: Steenson 5
Conversions: Steenson 2

Referee: James Jones (Wales)

Bourgoin: M Moinot, B Va’aulu, M Viazzo, D Janin, R Nasiganiyavi, S Laloo, M Forest [capt], E Iapteff, T Kopelani, S Bougherara, T Genevois, C Levast, T Cowley, A Tulou, Y Labrit.

Replacements: J Janaudy, V Pelo, S Charlet, A Louchard, W Jooste, J Gondrand, W van Zyl, S Tian

Exeter Chiefs: L Arscott, A Higgins, P Dollman, B Rennie, M Foster, G Steenson, H Thomas, B Sturgess, N Clark, C Budgen, T Hayes [capt], J Hanks, T Johnson, J Scaysbrook, R Baxter

Replacements: C Whitehead, R Murphy, I Elosu, D Gannon, C Slade, J Poluleuligaga, G Cowley, N Sestaret


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. more information

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.