Cheetahs hope for some good Fortuin

Springbok fullback Bevin Fortuin returns to the Cheetahs starting XV for their crucial Super 14 Round Seven match against the Brumbies at Vodacompark in Bloemfontein on Saturday.

Fortuin played for the Free State Cheetahs in the Vodacom Cup for past three weeks, after recovering from knee surgery – an injury he sustained on the Boks’ year-end tour to Ireland and England in November. He replaces Tiger Mangweni in the number 15 jersey, with the latter dropping out of the matchday 22 altogether.

Another Bok, utility back Meyer Bosman, also makes a welcome return at inside centre after being rested last week against the Sharks. Bosman’s return forces Herkie Kruger down to the replacements bench.

Bok midfielder Marius Joubert, who also sat out last week after playing in the first five weeks, returns to provide cover on the bench.

Gavin Passens get a start in place of Eddie Fredericks on the left wing, as part of coach Rassie Erasmus’ squad rotation system.

In another boost to the team burly lock Rory Duncan returns from injury and will partner Corniel van Zyl in the second row. Duncan also worked his way back to fitness in the Vodacom Cup and replaces Flip van der Merwe in the starting XV.

The Cheetahs has another big second row forward on the bench in Dewald Senekal – a former provincial cricketer from Sharks country, who played for the Falcons the last few years.

The last change sees Falie Oelschig starting at scrum-half, with Springbok Michael Claassens dropping out of the matchday 22 altogether. Tertius Carse, the Griquas number nine, will be providing the cover on the bench.

Cheetahs: 15 Bevin Fortuin, 14 Philip Burger, 13 Ronnie Cooke, 12 Meyer Bosman, 11 Gavin Passens, 10 Willem de Waal, 9 Falie Oelschig, 8 Ryno van der Merwe, 7 Juan Smith (c), 6 Hendro Scholtz, 5 Corniel van Zyl, 4 Rory Duncan, 3 Jannie du Plessis, 2 Richardt Strauss, 1 Os du Randt.
Replacements: 16 Ollie le Roux, 17 Wian du Preez, 18 Kabamba Floors, 19 Dewald Senekal, 20 Tertius Carse, 21 Herkie Kruger, 22 Marius Joubert.

Date: Saturday, 17 March
Venue: Vodacom Park, Bloemfontein:
Kick-off: 17.00 (15.00 GMT)
Referee: Paul Honiss (New Zealand)
Touch judges: Bryce Lawrence (New Zealand), Gareth Lloyd-Jones (South Africa)
Television match official: Johann Meuwesen (South Africa)
Assessor: Tappe Henning (South Africa)


365 Digital 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. more information

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.