Craig Joubert to referee Super 14 final

SANZAR have announced the appointments of the referees to the semifinals and the final of the 2010 Super 14.

Craig Joubert will referee the Super 14 Final on 29 May, while Stuart Dickinson and Mark Lawrence will referee the semifinals.

The appointments are based on performance in the 2010 Super 14 and takes on regard of affiliation. The principle of merit appointments came into working in 2009.

This principle enables SANZAR to make the appointments in advance thus removing an anxiety going into Round 14.

Joubert, who is 32 years of age, is the 10th referee to referee a Super Rugby Final. He has been refereeing Super Rugby since 1995. He has refereed 18 Test matches and 48 Super Rugby matches.

This weekend, he referees the match between the Cheetahs and the Lions in Bloemfontein, which means that Super 14 Final will be his 50th Super Rugby match.

Dickinson has refereed more Super Rugby matches than anybody else since his debut in 1996.

He is also on the brink of becoming the third referee in history to have refereed 50 Tests – after South Africa’s Jonathan Kaplan and Chris White.

Mark Lawrence is also greatly experience, having refereed Super Rugby since 1999.

In 2008, he refereed the Super 14 Final between the Crusaders and the Waratahs in Christchurch, a match which the Crusaders won 20-12. Lawrence turns 45 in June.

Super 14 Play offs Match Officials
Super 14 Semi-Final – Stuart Dickinson
Super 14 Semi-Final – Mark Lawrence
Super14 – Craig Joubert

Super Rugby Final referees, by number of appointments, have been:
5 – Andre Watson
3 – Paddy O’Brien, Jonathan Kaplan
1 – Freek Burger, Glen Wahlstrom, Wayne Erickson, Tappe Henning, Steve Walsh, Mark Lawrence

Referees in Super Finals:
1993: Freek Burger (South Africa)
1994: Glen Wahlstrom (New Zealand)
1995: Paddy O’Brien (New Zealand)
1996: Wayne Erickson (Australia)
1997: Tappe Henning (South Africa)
1998: Paddy O’Brien (New Zealand)
1999: Andre Watson (South Africa)
2000: Andre Watson (South Africa)
2001: Paddy O’Brien (New Zealand)
2002: Andre Watson (South Africa)
2003: Andre Watson (South Africa)
2004: Andre Watson (South Africa)
2005: Jonathan Kaplan (South Africa)
2006: Jonathan Kaplan (South Africa)
2007: Steve Walsh (New Zealand)
2008: Mark Lawrence (South Africa)
2009: Jonathan Kaplan (South Africa)


SA Referees

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. more information

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.