Chiefs make two changes for Bulls clash

The Chiefs have made just two changes to their starting XV ahead of Friday night’s match against the Bulls at Waikato Stadium in Hamilton in round nine of the Super 14.

In the forwards experienced openside flanker Tanerau Latimer returns to the number seven jersey after a week off with a knee strain, while in the backs, Chiefs rookie Tim Nanai-Williams will start at fullback replacing Mils Muliaina who is ruled out for the remainder of the season with a broken thumb.

Chiefs coach Ian Foster said: “Despite our on-going injury issues we have managed to make minimal changes from last week’s line-up.”


“We’re keen to keep as many combinations together as possible.”


“While last week’s tough win over the Highlanders wasn’t perfect, it did have many positives, particularly around our attack.


“We need to keep building on our skills and execution in this area.”


The Chiefs team 


1. Sona Taumalolo,2. Hika Elliot,3. Ben Afeaki,4. Craig Clarke,5. Culum Retallick,6. Liam Messam (captain),7. Tanerau Latimer,8. Sione Lauaki,9. Brendon Leonard,10. Mike Delany,11. Dwayne Sweeney, 12. Stephen Donald,13. Richard Kahui,14. Lelia Masaga,15. Tim Nanai-Williams

Reserves: 16. Vern Kamo, 17. Toby Smith, 18. Jarrad Hoeata, 19.Colin Bourke 20. Junior Poluleuligaga, 21. Callum Bruce, 22. Jackson Willison.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. more information

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.