Saints not taking Saracens lightly in LV= Cup

Northampton Saints say that they will be taking Saracens very seriously for Sunday’s Anglo Welsh LV= Cup semi-final at Franklin’s Gardens.

The contest is a match-up between two of the Guinness Premiership’s top four sides and is a repeat of last season’s European Challenge Cup semi-final.

So director of rugby Jim Mallinder was not taking anything for granted this week when naming his side for Sunday’s game.

“Saracens are a good team,” Mallinder said. “They know how they want to play and they’ve had a lot of success with it. They’ve got some very good players and we’ll have to be at our best this weekend to beat them.

“They are very strong in the contact area in attack and defence and put a lot of pressure on you. They’ve also got some pacy backs out wide who are good on the counter-attack and half-backs who can put a good, structured kicking game together so we’ve got to be aware of those threats as well.”

The Saints have used 33 players in the LV= Cup so far this season and Mallinder is delighted with how all of them have contributed in the team’s run to the semi-finals.

“The players who have come in have played well and stepped up to the mark,” he added.

“Ever since the early rounds of the LV= Cup, when we had a lot of players out playing representative rugby, the rest of the squad have all stepped up and played well. That’s one of the positives for our season.

“We’ve seen the tournament as a way of winning some silverware and we want to win it. But first we have the semi-final and we have been fully focused on that this week.”

Anglo Welsh LV= Cup semi-final
Venue : Franklin’s Gardens
Date : Sunday, March 14th, 2010
Kick off 4:15pm ,

Northampton Saints

15 Bruce Reihana , 14 Chris Ashton , 13 Jon Clarke , 12 James Downey , 11 Paul Diggin , 10 Shane Geraghty , 9 Lee Dickson , 1 Soane Tonga’uiha , 2 Brett Sharman , 3 Brian Mujati , 4 Ignacio Fernandez Lobbe , 5 Juandre Kruger , 6 Phil Dowson (capt) , 7 Neil Best , 8 Roger Wilson

Replacements , 16 Andy Long , 17 Regardt Dreyer , 18 Jon Vickers , 19 James Cannon , 20 Mark Easter , 21 Alan Dickens , 22 Stephen Myler , 23 Joe Ansbro , ,

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. more information

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.