Sale Sharks v Leeds Carnegie preview

Sale Sharks are in the midst of an unwanted run of five successive losses in all competitions, although the Sharks have not lost at home in the Guinness Premiership since London Irish were the visitors on 2 October.

Leeds Carnegie have slipped to four straight defeats in all competitions.


Leeds have won just one of their last six matches in the Guinness Premiership, but have scored at least one league point in their last four games.

The two teams have already met twice this season with Sale victorious on both occasions in November: 27-3 in the Anglo Welsh LV= Cup at Edgeley Park and 24-17 at Headingley Carnegie in the Guinness Premiership.

Leeds have never beaten the Sharks in 17 previous attempts in all competitions and have named an unchanged line up for the first time this season.


The entire 23 man squad that was selected last week to face Leicester have been retained as they look to overhaul the five point advantage that Worcester have over Leeds at the foot of the Guinness Premiership table.


That means that hooker Andy Titterrell will face his former club.


Titterrell made 122 appearances for the Sharks in seven seasons, helping the club to their only ever Premiership title in 2006.

Meanwhile Sale Sharks Director of Rugby Kingsley Jones has named Dafydd James in the team and he will make his home debut while Gavin Kerr starts against his former club.

Jones said, “Leeds will be hard to beat. They’ve got a good set piece and they’re desperate for a win. It’s a game that a lot of things hinge on so we really need to improve our discipline in our game.”

Match :Sale Sharks v Leeds Carnegie
Date : Friday 19 February
Venue : Edgeley Park
Kick off : 7.45pm
Referee: Dave Pearson (137th Premiership game)



Sale Sharks : Marika Vakacegu, Dafydd James, David Bishop, Lee Thomas, Ben Cohen, Charlie Hodgson, Dwayne Peel, Gavin Kerr, Neil Briggs, Eifion Roberts, Chris Jones, Dean Schofield, Kristian Ormsby, Carl Fearns, Sisa Koyamaibole


Replacements Mahonri Schwalger, Rob O’Donnell, Martin Halsall, Sean Cox, David Seymour, Richard Wigglesworth, Ed Styles, Oriol Ripol


Leeds Carnegie: 15. Leigh Hinton , 14. Henry Fa’afili , 13. Seru Rabeni , 12. Scott Barrow , 11. Lee Blackett , 10. Ceiron Thomas , 9. Andy Gomarsall , 1. Mike MacDonald , 2. Andy Titterrell , 3. Juan Gomez , 4. Erik Lund , 5. Marco Wentzel (C) , 6. Calum Clark , 7. Hendre Fourie , 8. Rhys Oakley


Reserves 16. Vili Ma’asi , 17. Gareth Hardy , 18. Phil Swainston , 19. Kearnan Myall , 20. Alfie To’oala , 21. Scott Mathie , 22. Joe Ford , 23. Richard Welding

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. more information

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.