Hot Bath Bubble against London Irish

Bath clinched an impressive 22-35 bonus-point victory over London Irish at the Madejski Stadium on Sunday, moving up to seventh on the Guinness Premiership table.

Penalties were exchanged in the opening 10 minutes as Ryan Davis and Tom Homer put their respective teams on the score-board.

The rest of the first half was all Bath. Homer slotted another penalty for Irish to take them up to six points, but the visitors ran in three unanswered tries before the break.

David Barnes opened the try-scoring in the 14th minute before Davis converted to give his side a four-point lead.

Matt Banahan extended the lead with a converted try and the match was in Bath’s control after 34 minutes as winger Joe Maddock took his side’s tally up to 25 points at the break.

Homer’s reliable kicking kept the Exiles in contention as he added three more penalties after the interval to make it 25-15.

Faan Rautenbach’s sin-binning in the 65th minute cost Irish dearly. Davis slotted the resultant penalty and Maddock crashed over for his second try three minutes later.

Homer’s one-man show continued in the 78th minute as he scored and converted his first try of the match, but the deficit was too big and Bath cruised to victory.

Final Score London Irish 22 Bath 35


London Irish
Tries – Homer
Pen – Homer (5)
Con – Homer

Tries – Banahan, Barnes, Maddock (2)
Pen – Davis (3)
Con – Davis (3)


London Irish: 15 Tom Homer, 14 Topsy Ojo, 13 Elvis Seveali’i, 12 Seilala Mapusua, 11 Peter Hewat, 10 Chris Malone, 9 Alfredo Lalanne, 8 George Stowers, 7 Jamie Gibson, 6 Richard Thorpe, 5 Bob Casey (c), 4 Kieran Roche, 3 Faan Rautenbach, 2 David Paice, 1 Clarke Dermody.

Replacements: 16 James Buckland, 17 Dan Murphy, 18 James Tideswell, 19 Matt Garvey, 20 Gary Johnson, 21 John Rudd, 22 Ryan Lamb, 23 Mike Catt.

Bath: 15 Nick Abendanon, 14 Joe Maddock, 13 Shontayne Hape, 12 Ryan Davis, 11 Matt Banahan, 10 Butch James, 9 Michael Claassens (c), 8 Luke Watson, 7 Julian Salvi, 6 Ben Skirving, 5 Peter Short, 4 Stuart Hooper, 3 Duncan Bell, 2 Lee Mears, 1 David Barnes.

Replacements: 16 Pieter Dixon, 17 David Flatman, 18 Aaron Jarvis, 19 Andy Beattie, 20 Jonny Faamatuainu, 21 Scott Bemand, 22 Nicky Little, 23 Jack Cuthbert.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. more information

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.